Peanut Butter Avoidance Day

I love peanut butter, but I just read this about it:

…”raw peanut butter (as in less refined) is better than refined, because it retains many of the beneficial nutrients found in the skin; in addition, processed peanut butter might contain added trans-fatty acids (which have been shown to increase the risk of cardiocirculatory diseases). A further risk is that when badly preserved, it can host the mold Aspergillus flavus, that produces aflatoxin (a very toxic and carcinogenic substance), so your best bet is to always go with natural peanut butter.” (source: http://peanut-butter.org)

Back when I was in grade school, one of our teachers decided that we were going to make some food. I remember someone making mackerel patties…er salmon patties…not sure which fish. Then we made homemade peanut butter. As a child, I’ve never wanted to gag so much in my life. We made milkshakes on the same day, and that was the only thing that tasted good. So I’ll take my chances with refined peanut butter. I’ve read that, if you get hungry between meals, you can eat a spoonful of peanut butter and that helps give you protein until your next meal. I’ve tried it and it does work. It probably also works if you eat a Reece’s Peanut Butter cup or two…or three. That curves hunger too.

Oh and I also read that a spoonful of creamy peanut butter helps treat hiccups. That one I did not know about, so I’ll have to try it next time I have a case of hiccups.

9 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Avoidance Day

  1. Mmmm….peanut butter…. I don’t like the “better” natural kind, because it has to be refrigerated and then it seperates, but it is hard to stir up because it gets hard in the refrigerator. It is a whole THING. I just want to dip my knife or spoon in and be good to go. Um, that sounds….

  2. Laura B: That’s good to know about the natural peanut butter, because I did think of trying some. Ick, didn’t know it reacted that way and that it separates. Not my kinda PB! Haha…yeah, that last line does sound a bit off. :D

    Noregrets: I prefer eating shelled, unsalted peanuts. They’re so addicting, though. But I do like to take a handful with me to work for a snack. I like peanut butter on sliced apples. And now I’m hungry.

    Silver: I haven’t had hiccups in awhile, but the next time I do I’ll try that remedy!

  3. Luv peanut butter and jelly. In fact, I once had half a jar for lunch one time–no crackers, no bread, but with just a glass of water…I went shopping for groceries after that.

    Yeah, some of that “natural” crap tastes like, well, I suppose, crap! I still buy real butter. I still buy regular eggs. I still prefer regular sugar–sweet and low has a bitter after taste for me!

  4. Eroswings: I should do that more often…eat some peanut butter or any snack really before I go grocery shopping so I don’t wind up buying too much! But half a jar of peanut butter plus cold milk sounds really good!

    I am pro-regular sugar. The artificial sweeteners, I think, are worse for us than the real stuff.

  5. Churlita: Cool study, I never thought of that! I used to like the crunchy peanut butter when it first came out, but then realized it wasn’t as easy to spread on bread for sandwiches. Maybe it means that women want to make a peanut butter sandwich without obstacles and men…um…like to tear up their bread with chunky peanut butter. I have no idea. :)

    NoRegrets: Definitely!

Leave a comment