Reeling It In

– My mom turned 79 today! She also found out today that she has some eye allergies, so her doctor is going to find out what’s causing all the fuss. If it’s her cat that’s doing it, Joshua might have to live with me. I guess I’ll take him in. It’s not like he’s cute or funny or anything. Pshh.

Anyway, we were supposed to go shopping on Saturday, but she wanted to stay in because she was concerned about her cold (we both thought she had a cold in her eyes, but it turned out to be allergies). Instead, I brought over some German Chocolate cupcakes that I made the night before and we watched the movie “Billy Elliot”. Have you seen that movie? You should. Netflix it.

– Meanwhile at work, we have hired a new instructor. When he first came in for an interview, the office was a-buzz. He’s very attractive. It was slightly intimidating at first, but then he made things better by being all professional, soft-spoken, down-to-earth and courteous. What made it funny, though, was that the resident dream-guy with the bratty sense of humor, chiseled jaw and military background was jealous, but dismissed everything by announcing that the guy was too short. Um, not for me!

He stopped in a few Fridays ago for an appointment. While the person he was supposed to meet with was on the phone with someone else, we started talking about our weekends. After he told me about his weekend and asked me about mine, I opened up about my recent hobby of building a dollhouse. I really should’ve reeled it in, but bless his heart he listened to my ramblings and looked interested. Eventually he met up with the person he was supposed to meet with, but before he left he made a point to stop and say “goodbye” to me. He did the same thing today when he popped in. I wish I had been prepared today, but he caught me off guard. According to my mom, though, it’s good to hold it back a bit, don’t look over-eager. I have gone the over-eager route, the person called me on it and I was hurt deeply. I don’t want to feel that again, if I can help it.

8 thoughts on “Reeling It In

  1. Aw, I hope your mom isn’t allergic to Joshua! Unless…it wouldn’t be the WORST thing if you HAD to take him in :) I love Billy Elliot too. As for Cute Guy, he sounds nice as well as handsome. Be yourself. You are beautiful, smart, and funny. All the right stuff.

  2. Thank you, Laura! I’m so afraid that I’m going to scare him off by being too happy to see him. Course if that kind of thing does scare him off, maybe it was never meant to be. :‚

  3. I’m confused about how you can have a cold in your eyes. But I LOVE Billy Elliot – one of my favorite movies ever.

    What do you do that involves instructors? And good luck with the new one. Let’s face it – if he were going to be put off by something meaningful to you, it would become a problem anyway. So I wouldn’t even worry about that.

  4. Secret Agent Woman: It’s also called conjunctivitis – watery, itchy eyes and I think other special symptoms too.

    I’m the receptionist at a college. I used to work in the Career Services department until my position was eliminated. I like my receptionist job a lot.

    Thank you, I will try not to worry about it. :) I missed him again today, but the new quarter will be starting soon and it sounds like he’ll be teaching his night class when I work my night shift. Maybe that’ll provide more chances to get to know each other!

  5. They found out that she does have allergies, so she’s taking meds for them.
    I think the guy is going to be teaching three classes, so odds are I will be seeing him again. :)

Leave a Reply

