“…into the Further you go.”

I recently rented two movies from Netflix. Although I heard both movies were scary, I had to watch them and be the judge. I rented “Paranormal Activity 3” and “Insidious”. I’ve been a Doubting Tara for awhile now with horror movies, so I didn’t have any expectations. I did rent the third movie in the “Paranormal Activity” series, though, because the second movie was impressively creepy.

Now I don’t know if this had anything to do with the affect the movies had on me, but the weekend before last was not my best. That weekend left me feeling weak, sensitive and paranoid but at the same time it made me feel empowered and determined.

My nerves were vulnerable, though. I decided to watch one of the movies I rented on Netflix, so I watched “Paranormal Activity 3”. It is based on the fictional sisters who started all of this ruckus that released the PA demon in the first place, but this movie backtracks to when they are kids. I jumped so many times while watching that movie, it was ridiculous. A figure appeared and disappeared from under a sheet, a child was grabbed by an unseen force and dragged across the room into a crawl space….(Shiver) Well, I was impressed.

Then this past Friday, I had the chance to watch the 2nd rental, “Insidious”. Although I was having a good week, we had a blood drive at work that Wednesday. They turned me down to donate because my iron count was low, and I was feeling paranoid and sensitive. Again, my nerves were frayed. Anyway, watching that movie creeped me out. I still think about that one and it makes me nervous at night. A family moves into a beautiful new home. I started to wonder why all of the beautiful houses wind up haunted, but if I were a ghost, I wouldn’t want to leave a home like that either. Anyway, one of their sons falls into something like a coma soon after they move in, and then weird things start to happen. The freaky occurrences get so bad that they move, but the hauntings continue. They find out that it’s not the house that was haunted, it is their seemingly comatose son that’s attracting all of the ghosts and one of the creepiest demons since “Poltergeist”. What’s creepier than the demon, though, is the use of an old upbeat song that the ghosts and demon love to listen to on the record player. Then there’s the realization of what’s really happening to their son and….well you’re just going to have to see it for yourselves if you’re up for it.

My mom came over on Saturday and we watched “Insidious” together. She liked the movie too, but said, “If I wake up with nightmares tonight, I’m calling you to complain.” She’s thick-skinned like I am about horror movies, so that was a good sign.

7 thoughts on ““…into the Further you go.”

  1. Cool choices, I think I might enjoy those films although I’ve only seen the first PA. Every time I browse film stores I see lts of new horror movies with gruesome covers but there are so many I can never decide which to try.

  2. I’m not much of a horror movie fun unless the scariness comes from suspense rather than gore. I watched the first Paranormal Activity and thought it was one of the funniest movies I’d ever seen. WHen the girl got dragged out of the room, my son and I burst out laughing I know that wasn’t the intended effect. Is Insidious bloody or just suspenseful? Because I might like it if there isn’t a lot of violence in it.

  3. FW: I haven’t seen the fourth PA, but I recommend PA 2 and 3!

    Secret Agent Woman: I’m not usually into the gory horror movies either. I like mystery and suspense. “Insidious” had a little violence in it, but it wasn’t gory and there was a lot of suspense.

  4. I am very easily spooked! My daughter and I watched the first PA on DVD. I kind of enjoy the thrill of being creeped out, but not enough to seek it out too often :)

  5. PA 2 and 3 were examples, at least for me, of sequels that have been better than the original. There aren’t that many out there that gain strength after the 1st movie.

    You should definitely check out “Insidious”, though.

Leave a Reply

