Tick Freakin’ Tock!

When my mom and I went in to see our optometrist, I was on the third day of a whopper of a cold, I felt like crap and I sounded like Linda Blair’s character when she was possessed in “The Exorcist” (“Your mother’s in here with us Karras. Would you like to leave a message? I’ll see that she gets it”).

Anyway, after all was said and done, I just needed a stronger prescription for my glasses. They told me it would take up to 10 days. I was already excited, because I spotted my favorite frames right away.

Fast forward to 10 days later. My voice is finally up to 95% and I want my damn glasses! I thought that I’d pick them up today and then complete the new look by going to the salon and getting a new hairdo. I hadn’t received a call from the optometrist’s office, so I called them this morning. This is how it went:

Me: Hi, I had an appointment on January 5th and ordered my glasses. I wanted to see if they were in yet.

Assistant: Did we call you?

Me: No….

Assistant: Then they’re not in yet. We’ll call you when they come in.

I bristled a bit. It was like looking for something in a store and asking an associate if they had that particular item, and they’d say, “If it’s not on the shelf, we don’t have it.” Only this was way more annoying. I decided that I was going to get a new hairdo anyway, so that’s what I did.

Usually when I go into a salon, I get outrageous. I go for an extreme haircut….well, extreme for me. This time, though, I wanted to keep my hair long, but I didn’t want to look like a crazy lady with split ends. My stylist was very helpful. I’m glad I asked for her advice, because she did a wonderful job. I’ll ask for her again. Now I want to complete my new look with my new damned glasses! Tick tock, people! I’ll have to wait until Tuesday for any word, because they’re closed on Mondays. Phooey! I know it’s not a huge problem, but I’m excited and maybe too eager.

9 thoughts on “Tick Freakin’ Tock!

  1. Wow, that was rude of this human. I used to handle service calls during the day and people would call up and ask me if their board/system/hard drive/whatever showed up. Knowing full well that the person probably gave the package to shipping who promptly set it down and ignored it until this person went back and asked if they shipped it, I would say, “I’m not quite sure, let me go check.” I would then proceed to finish writing an email, get a beverage, ask a coworker what song they were listening to, walk back to my desk, pick up the phone and say, “I’m sorry, UPS/FedEx/DHL/USPS/Pony Express has not been here yet, but I will give your package priority when it arrives.” He would be satisfied, I would be satisfied and all would be right and well with the world. By the way, if you plan on using this or any modified strategy, I own the patent on the idea, but you can send check directly to me.

    I hope that you got your glasses and your voice back. The word for Saturday, by the way, is DASH.

  2. FW: I’m still waiting for word on my glasses, but I am still very happy with my new hairdo!

    AlienCG: I would’ve been happier if she had said, “I don’t think they’re in, but let me check for you.”

  3. Manuel: I just wish she had stopped to check. Still no word. Yes, it is a race, but we shouldn’t make *spectacles* of ourselves. Hehe.

    Laura: Yup, I want to post a photo! By the time my frames arrive, though, my hair will be long again and grey.

Leave a Reply

