2013

Well hello! I hope that all of my friends in blogland are enjoying a fabulous new year so far! What’ve you all been up to, lately?

I haven’t posted since before Christmas, so I guess I’ll start there. Christmas was really nice. My family and I exchanged gifts, we relaxed, ate and just chatted. One of the things I received was a crockpot from my mom. It’s beautiful, and I have already had so much fun with it. I made a pot roast, beef bourgignon, stuffed cabbage rolls and simmered some pork ribs. I want to make some soup and chili, too. Then I read somewhere that I could bake bread in the crockpot, too.

My brother bought me an MP3 player with 16 gigabytes! I keep loading that thing up with songs, and then I play the music while I work on my dollhouse or clean the apartment. It’s great!

New Year’s Eve was really, really fun and peaceful. I cooked, danced, watched movies…just relaxed at home and did anything I wanted without having to go out anywhere. My mom and I ate the pork ribs on New Year’s Day. The ribs were delicioso.

We returned to work after Christmas right in time to get hit by a snow storm. That day was supposed to be my 12 to 9 shift, but we were sent home early because of the weather! I felt like a kid who was just granted a snow day.

Then last week when we returned from New Year’s break, I finished my 12 – 9 shift feeling very chilled. By the time I got home and ready for bed, the stiffness set in. I woke up early in the morning and felt like I had been hit by a bus. I called in sick and went back to bed. The same thing happened on Friday, too, but with a generous side of laryngitis and a bad cough.

My mom and I had appointments with the eye doctor on Saturday. We decided to keep our appointments because you have to book a few months ahead of time, and we really needed new glasses. My mom and I made it through our exams and I was able to pick out some frames right away. I can’t wait to wear them when they come in. The only thing that was a little frustrating was waiting for my eyes to readjust after he had them dilated. Those plastic sunglasses they give you to slip behind your glasses do come in handy, especially while driving.

Anyway, I took Monday off and then returned on Tuesday. My voice is still kaput and I have a cough, but I don’t have anymore chills or fever. I didn’t like that at all, it scared me. Now I just wish the rest of the cold would go away.

That about wraps things up! Oh, and I’ll post some updated photos of my dollhouse either today or tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “2013

  1. So nice to see you Miss Tara! I’m sorry you have been sick. I guess we are in a flu epidemic. Your Xmas and NY sound lovely though. I will look forward to seeing how your little house is coming along :)

  2. Thank you, Ms. Laura! :) I’m grateful that I got the flu shot. I’m just saying “good-bye” to one helluva bad cold. Once I finish the dollhouse, I might decide to do another one, but not as big.

    Secret Agent: Thanks! I love having music on hand whenever I’m working on something.

  3. Remove the ribs to a plate and add the diced veggies to the pot. Saute them, stirring often with a wooden spoon, until they’re very soft. As you stir, try to scrape the brown bits from the bottom of the pan into the sizzling veggies. If they the veggies to scorch before they’ve turned soft, turn the heat down a bit.

Leave a Reply

