Books and Projects

– While my mom and I visited Arizona, we stopped at a few cool shops. I bought some books; “Thank You Notes” by Jimmy Fallon and the writers of “Late Night”, “Fifty Shames of Earl Grey” by Fanny Merkin/Andrew Shaffer, “The Leftovers” by Tom Perrotta and a journaling book called “Listography: Your Life in Lists” by Lisa Nola and illustrated by Nathaniel Russell. I haven’t gotten into the last book yet, but it’ll be fun once I get started. The book by Jimmy Fallon makes me laugh. The “Fifty Shames of Earl Grey” is a parody of “Fifty Shades of Grey”. Some of it makes me laugh, but it’s too goofy. I know it’s supposed to be goofy, and I can picture someone making a movie that way, but I prefer the original story. I was able to get into “The Leftovers” on the flight home, and it’s interesting and easy to read so far.

– Last night and on a whim I decided to check out the website of the craft store we visited early last week. They had some really cool dollhouses available, and it got me thinking about maybe making my own dollhouse, or buying a kit. My timing was perfect and lucky. I checked out the craft store’s website just in time to find out they were having a sale on dollhouse kits! Weird, huh? I still hesitated, but couldn’t help feeling I needed to take advantage of the sale. I wound up ordering a beautiful dollhouse/farmhouse kit for 50 dollars less than the original price. I can’t wait. I’ve been looking for a project to work on, and I have always loved dollhouses.

5 thoughts on “Books and Projects

  1. I thought Thank You Notes was really cute. I’ve been meaning to read 50 Shames, mainly because I think Andrew Shaffer is such a cool, funny guy. I’m a big Tom Perrotta fan and enjoyed The Leftovers quite a bit. Have you read any of his other books?
    I can’t wait to see your dollhouse. Hopefully, we’ll get a little peek on Saturday!

  2. Laura: I started to read “Thank You Notes” in the car on the way back to my brother’s place and it cracked me up. I couldn’t even repeat the page I was reading because I was giggling too much. :) I haven’t read anything else from Tom Perrotta, but I do remember reading a review on a blog about “The Leftovers”. It was either on your blog or on Churlish Figure, and it sounded like a good book to read!

  3. “The book by Jimmy Fallon makes me laugh. The “Fifty Shames of Earl Grey” is a parody of “Fifty Shades of Grey”. ”

    There’s also the California political book, “the Fity Shades of Gray Davis”, and Ive seen some great pictures for “The Fifty Shades of Gandalf the Gray”.

  4. NoR: I do want to keep it for awhile, because I love to play with dollhouses and decorate them. I’ll probably give it to my friend’s daughter after awhile, though. If she doesn’t want it, I’ll donate it to the local children’s home.

    DMarks: When I asked the girl at the bookstore if they had the parody to “Fifty Shades”, she asked, “Which one?” I had no idea there were so many parodies for that book already.

Leave a Reply

