My “Fifty Shades” Reading Experience

The “Fifty Shades of Grey” trilogy (1. “Fifty Shades of Grey”, 2. “Fifty Shades Darker” and 3. “Fifty Shades Freed”) is about a college student named Anastasia Steele who is suddenly “drafted” to interview the young, mysterious and successful business tycoon, Christian Grey, and is introduced to his world and his secret, dark hobbies. As she begins to spend more time with Grey, she learns about his sad, tragic childhood, his very difficult and confusing teen years and his constant need for control. She also learns more about her own desires and limits.

I don’t want to give too much away in case you’d like to read the books. My friend read them first and when I started getting into the story, I was afraid to ask her too much. I was already getting bits of foreshadowing, and since I could relate to and feel strong empathy for the main characters and the others, I would get so tense and emotional reading the books. Part of me wanted to skim ahead to the ending so that I would know what to expect, but I stopped myself and read on. I’m so glad I did.

Before my obsession with those books started, my sister-in-law asked me if I had heard about them. She was curious and had heard about the sexually explicit parts of the story. That piqued my curiosity, so before I started my week-long vacation last month, I bought the first book. I was immediately hooked and obsessed; sitting down and reading for hours, reading during commercials (if I decided to take a “break” from reading), trying not to read while I was on the phone, feeling antsy while on the phone; anxious to hang up and continue reading… Well, you get the point.

Yes, the book goes into great detail about the sexual encounters between Anastasia and Christian. Some details were easy and enjoyable to read, others not so much; depends on your own, particular likes and dislikes when/if you read it.

What I really loved was the way they met and how much their relationship progressed as the story developed. I loved the communication between the two main characters and I loved that Anastasia saw through Christian and knew that, in spite of his control freak nature and dominating demeanor and hobbies, he cared a great deal and was very philanthropic, young at heart and playful. I loved the playful communication between the two; especially when they bantered back and forth using their Blackberries.

Anyway, the story is not just about sex. It’s funny, thrilling, dramatic, thought-provoking and touching. I definitely recommend you read the trilogy.

10 thoughts on “My “Fifty Shades” Reading Experience

  1. It is like this series is everywhere and there are parodies galore. Yet when it comes down to it, I really haven’t heard that much about it in a substantial way. It is interesting to hear that it is about a relationship that develops, because people tend to get focused on the more salacious aspects.

  2. Dub: Nope!

    Laura: There are plenty of the salacious parts. I didn’t want to watch any of the parodies until I was finished reading all three of the books, because I didn’t want any chance of spoilers. I didn’t even want to look at the various fan pages. Now I can and It’s fun to know exactly what everyone’s talking about on there now.

  3. It was nice to have a review that said something about the story line! I wasn’t sure if this was one of those “Happy Hooker” type books that just catch on for the naughty bits or if it was a real story. Thank you.

  4. I have heard much about this series, both good and bad. However, romance of any flavor is not really my cup of coffee. It’s good to know that they have a bit more substance than the usual romance books out there.

  5. We have a copy at home but I haven’t read it myself yet. I’ll probably read it when the fuss dies down a bit. Is it written by a male or female? I don’t think I’ve seen the author.

  6. AlienCG: There is definitely more substance in the books. In fact, if you skimmed over the salacious parts, you’d still get a great story.

    FW: Those books were written by a woman in the U.K.. If you do read the first book, give it a chance, finish it and read the last two of the series. They get into more suspense and mystery.

Leave a Reply

