Stuff 2012

Well my cold is winding down now, but holy crap it lasted long! I was so tired of feeling like crap and not being able to talk. I still don’t have my voice back 100%; can’t sing in the car, but the other symptoms are easing up.

My mom will have her operation for her gall bladder on March 15th. She also has to have a scope put down her throat this Monday, because she’s having more heartburn than usual and the doctor thinks that a certain med she’s taking is causing a negative reaction. Otherwise, she has more energy and sounds stronger. I need to stop worrying so much and thinking that I can control everything that she’s going through. There were times this past week when I could actually let go and stop worrying, and it felt weird but good.

For Lent this year, I gave up wine. Actually, I gave up all alcohol, but wine is my favorite and I drink that the most. I’ve been alcohol free since Tuesday, February 21st. I’ve never given up anything for Lent in the past, so I thought I’d give it a try. It was either that or Facebook. Maybe I’ll try giving up Facebook next year. I feel like Lent is a trial version of a New Year’s resolution. You don’t have to commit a whole year to your Lent resolution.

Since my voice was shot on Monday, I took another sick day. I had the urge to clear off the window sill that has most of my plants on it. There were two of the same plants in different, plastic pots, so I threw out the old pots and put both plants in a bigger ceramic pot and added fresh soil. I could hear them sigh with relief. Then I tidied up some other plants and added my miniature rose bush to the gang after I dusted the shelf and watered all the plants. It was a nice project to fiddle with on a free day.

6 thoughts on “Stuff 2012

  1. The colds going around have been quite brutal.. we all had it over Christmas.. me the worse..

    Glad you took a “Me” day and got some little things done..

    Have you tried honey and lemon in plain tea.. works wonders for the throat.. and or Apple Cider Vinegar and honey.. tastes awful.. but it works!

  2. I forgot to say that you are a good daughter and watching out for your Mom.. I’m sure she appreciates it.. worrying or not..

    All the best for a safe procedure on both!

  3. I’m so sorry you are still troubled by that dratted cold! Colds are just enough icky feeling to make everything yucky.
    Worry is hard to avoid when you love someone. But it probably isn’t helping your cold. Glad to hear that your mom has had some progress and seems to be more energized. I will think good thoughts for both of you!

  4. Glad to hear you and your mom are both feeling better! I know you can’t help but worry and that will surely run you down. I bet after this next little bit of surgery and recovery time, you will both be better than ever!
    You are so great to be able to take care of plants. I am hopeless!

  5. MHW: I had lots of tea, but I also had honey and lemon-flavored throat lozenges. They worked really well.

    Thank you so much for your thoughts and well wishes for my mom. :)

    Silly Rabbit: Thank you so much, I’ll keep all of you posted!
    Yeah, the cold has been exhausting for sure.

    Silver: Thank you! I have been tempted these past few weeks to buy some wine. Really tempted. But I’m behaving. :)

    Laura: Thank you, I really hope both procedures work out for my mom so that she feels great and ready to take on happier events!

    I’m so surprised some of my plants are still around. I don’t water some as much as I should, and then when I do get around to it, I wind up giving them too much.

Leave a Reply

