I Ran But Couldn’t Hide

I’ve got the cold that has been making its rounds around the office. I avoided getting sick last year, so I guess it was due time. I took yesterday off and it felt good. I didn’t get much sleep the night before, so yesterday after I made my bed, I conked out on one of my new, fluffy pillows and passed out for about a half hour.

Later on, I felt like making some popcorn, even though my tastebuds were shot, and watched “Bram Stoker’s Dracula”. Then while that was on I got the urge to clean my bathroom. Once the movie and the cleaning frenzy ended, I made myself a cup of tea that’s called “Bedtime”, took a cold pill and went to bed. I don’t remember hitting the pillow.

Now I’m back at work with a Marge Simpsonish voice and an annoying sniffle. Feels pretty good to be back, though, even if I only took a day to recuperate.

5 thoughts on “I Ran But Couldn’t Hide

  1. I understood all of that except for the bathroom cleaning…what’s up with that? Glad you are feeling a bit better.
    I’ve been sort of stuffy for a couple of weeks. I feel fine, but sound weird. People keep saying – Are you okay?

  2. Popcorn and sleepytime tea! Sounds like a great cure to me. Thanks for the reminder that I need to get some comet so that I can clean the toilets tomorrow. I don’t like a creepy toilet. Glad you are feeling better.
    When I’d get a voice like that with a cold I always enjoyed singing songs like “It’s A Heartache” or “Me and Bobbie McGee” just for the fun of it. Ha

  3. Laura: The bathroom cleaning just happened! All I really wanted to do was give the bath mat a good scrubbing, but then I couldn’t stop! I had to clean the tub, the toilet, sink and mirror. Whew!

    Silly Rabbit: I always get a laugh out of my raspy “cold” voice. The cough that usually goes along with it cracks me up too, but it seems that skipped me this year. Next time you should add “Total Eclipse of the Heart”!

    Silver: I don’t usually take sick days for myself, so yeah it was nice to just relax and not have to worry about work stuff on a week day.

  4. Hope you are feeling better for the weekend.. We were sick over Christmas and it was brutal.. Thee was nowhere to run and hide from getting it..

    Glad you ttook a “me” day to try and rest.. and clean..lol

Leave a Reply

