Thoughts and Prayers Needed, Please!

Hey everyone,

I’ve been trying to stay upbeat and everything, but just wanted to let you know that my mom’s in the hospital at the moment. She called me up early Friday morning and said that she thought she had food poisoning because she vomited about 3 or 4 times.

Skip ahead to the emergency room and after a few scans and other tests, and we found out she had pancreatitis due to a gall bladder infection! She has a gallstone. The problem now is that both her pancreas and her gallbladder are irritated at the moment, and they have to make sure the inflammation is down before they can perform surgery. From what I got from the surgeon, he wants her to stay in the hospital between 3 to 7 days, go home and then eventually schedule surgery to remove the gall bladder.

Meanwhile, though, she has had some breathing problems and her blood pressure has gone up, so they transferred her from a regular hospital room to CCU. This wasn’t shocking to me, because this had to be done when she had pneumonia a few years ago. But it’s all very upsetting and frustrating for her and all of us.

Thoughts and prayers would be greatly appreciated, but I just wanted to give you all a heads-up on the status of things.

9 thoughts on “Thoughts and Prayers Needed, Please!

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that your mom is ill, Tara. Thank you for sharing this with us….please know that I am thinking good thoughts for your family and holding your mom in the light. Please keep us updated when you can.

  2. Thank you, Laura! She was breathing and looking much better today, but I’m so afraid to let my guard down right now. I hope she continues to improve rather than go the opposite direction. I’m a nervous wreck.

  3. Oh no! Sending positive vibes for a speedy recovery! My mum had to have her gall bladder out a few years back – she was in a similar situation, sent home to let it ease off for a bit before they’d operate, but once she had it done she was back to her usual happy self in days. Hopefully your mum will be the same and she’ll be fighting fit before you know it.

    Anyway: thinking of you both.

Leave a Reply

