Summah Time!

I seem to have settled into a two-posts-a-week groove. I just don’t feel much like posting between the Friday 5 and the Saturday Scavenger Shots anymore. I feel sad about that, because I’ve held onto this blog for a long time and there were a few years straight where I couldn’t wait to blog about stuff! My life isn’t the most exciting lately, and there isn’t much to complain about at work, which is actually a good thing. With choir, we’re on our post-Spring-concert break until September. Oh, but I do have a little story about that, so maybe this week I’ll have a third post! Thank you for bearing with me during my mini hiatus!

Here is the Friday 5, themed toward Summer. Yay, Summer!

1.What was your best Summer vacation like?
Almost every trip to Arizona was the best. I love the Arizona heat and I rarely see my brothers who live out there, so it’s always a nice reunion. One sister-in-law knows how to plan out stuff to do while the other sister-in-law knows how to break open a box of wine for everyone and just chill out by the pool. Also, one of my favorite things to do is laugh with my brothers; especially the ones who laugh so hard at their own jokes that they have to leave the room to compose themselves. :)

2.What was your worst summer vacation like?
My mom and I took a trip to Canada to meet a few of my brothers and their families. It wasn’t Canada’s fault, it treated us right and it’s a beautiful country. There were plenty of things to do. What sucked was that we lost part of our luggage on the way there and all of our luggage on the way back (thankfully only temporarily). My family and I were stressed out over various things, so we argued and nagged at each other 70% of the time. Then my mom and I finished up arguing with each other on the way back home. One of the best parts of that vacation was watching my little nephew crack up laughing at the dinner table because their cat hopped up on a chair and tried to get some food off of a plate.

3.What food or drink reminds you of a particular summer?
Oysters – I had never tried them before, and my brothers took me to an oyster bar in Arizona on my first trip out there. It was a challenge for me to eat the first one; especially watching my brothers just swallow them whole. My sister-in-law didn’t even want to watch. I did try some oysters, but not the way my brothers ate them. I slathered on the available horseradish. It was a fun memory, though. I think that was the same day we went to the Hard Rock Cafe and I had the drink called Sex on the Beach. Good stuff!

4.What summer-only activity do you now look most forward to every year?
Cooking hotdogs/steaks/burgers on the grill, walking around barefoot and in shorts; visiting the pool we have at the apartment; the smell of chlorine, etc. Basically just spending more time outside.

5.What summer movie or summer reading are you most looking forward to this year?
I want to see “X-Men: First Class” and “The Help” this Summer. Also, I think I will take part in the Summer reading program at our local library.

4 thoughts on “Summah Time!

  1. I am so, so glad it is pretty much summer at this point. I need the heat!

    Sounds like even your worst vacation had good points :-) I know you’ll have a great summer this year…especially if you participate in SRP!!!

  2. Laura: The SRP will keep me out of trouble! :)

    Tim: Hi! Lol…I had to laugh about your mentioning our blogging mojo, because I just watched some of “Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me” and Dr. Evil stole Austin’s mojo. That’s who we can blame for stealing our mojo!

  3. Pingback: Thanks For Visiting, Summer. Could You Leave Me Alone Now? « Cbcburke9's Blog

Leave a Reply

