Saturday Scavenger Shots: Broke

Today’s SSS word, “broke”, was chosen by Ms. NoR from the blog, “Woman with No Regrets”! So let’s get to it, shall we?

I wanted to go to the library today to drop off the books I took out a few weeks ago, and take out a few more; maybe relax in the library and spend the afternoon reading. Since it’s almost a straight shot from my apartment to the local branch, I thought I’d put in some training and walk there. There’s an overpass on the way, and underneath that overpass is one of our popular highways. It was disorienting for me to see the traffic below and then see the traffic zooming by on my other side. It broke my concentration, so I had to focus on the ground until I was over it.

When I reached the library, I noticed that the parking lot was vacant. Did I show up too early? Then I looked at the sign and found out that, since it’s a holiday weekend, the library was closed from Saturday through Monday. Gah! Oh well. There was a Target close by, and I had brought my Starbucks giftcard that still had money on it from my birthday. Thankfully they were open, so I bought myself a lemon square and a tall, chai tea latte and sat down to people-watch. I took my time; I didn’t have to do anything else.

On my way back to the main street, I noticed there was a public swingset set back amongst some trees next to the walking path. I can’t resist swings if nobody else is using them, so I hopped on one and swung out. There were some guys playing tennis nearby and a baseball game was going on across the way. It was such a nice afternoon.

I headed home but wanted to stop for some lunch, so I went to Dairy Queen. I did not expect them to be so expensive, and quite frankly the meal I had wasn’t worth it. Anyone who’s almost broke like I am shouldn’t have to pay that much plus have to pay diningroom tax on top of it. Lesson learned. That’s one less restaurant I have to check out in the future.

Anyway, here’s a photo of my giftcard that still has money on it. Giftcards like this are excellent gifts for people who are broke.

I hope everyone is having a fun weekend! Who will NoR pick for next week’s word chooser person? Hmm! We shall see.

4 thoughts on “Saturday Scavenger Shots: Broke

  1. any gift cards are great when you’re broke. I had a friend give me a gas station gift card for my birthday and it was the nicest thing at the end of the month when I had no money and I didn’t have to worry about gas.

  2. That was a perfect, thoughtful gift from your friend! I’m sure that was a relief to not have to worry about paying for gas. A coworker just gave me gas money this morning because I drive her to work. It was a nice surprise.

Leave a Reply

