Nightmares and Landscapes

Hi everyone! Did you have a nice weekend? I know that we’re already into Wednesday, but I also know I haven’t posted since Saturday.

I woke up on Saturday after having the longest dream I’ve had so far in my life. I woke up two times during that dream and then fell back to sleep still able to continue. The majority of my dream was spent running, and I so wished I could count that as part of my walkathon training!

I dreamed that I was back in the house I lived in as a kid and I was being chased by the queen alien from the movie “Aliens”. I was hiding on the back porch and could somehow see the alien in the livingroom. She thought I was upstairs and started to head that way. Once she realized where I was really hiding, she caught up to me before I could go out the back door. I tried to close the door on her, but she reached around and grabbed my arm. That’s when I woke up flailing my right arm, still feeling like I had to break free from her grip.

I was able to fall back to sleep, but because I was still thinking about the dream, it continued and backtracked to when the alien found out where I was really hiding. This time, though, I was able to break free and run out the back door and across the lawn to the fence. I climbed up super fast, jumped down Selene style and then ran as fast as I could across the park, leaving the alien far behind.

Eventually I wound up at the mall with some of my coworkers. One of my friends had me trash someone’s apartment, but I don’t know why. I don’t know why it was so easy for me to follow that order, either. Anyway, then she told me that I trashed the wrong person’s place, and the woman was looking for me at the same mall, but didn’t know what I looked like. So I calmly walked out of the mall but was stopped by two detectives. I ran from them, too, and started frantically looking for my car and panicking. I knew I couldn’t go “home” because that’s where the alien was hanging out. I was jumping over benches, sliding across puddles and mud, etc. I hid behind a fence but the detectives found me, so I took off again. That’s when I woke up for good.

So it was a very long dream. There were more details in there, but didn’t want this post to be any longer than it is already. I did write down the entire dream on a notepad and it took up two and a half pages.

6 thoughts on “Nightmares and Landscapes

  1. Those running and hiding dreams are exhausting…and that was such a long one!

    Straightens pretend glasses that I don’t wear, situates notepad, pen, leans forward thoughtfully and says in a low, soothing voice – Tell us, Tara, what are you running from in real life?

    hee hee :-)

    • It was a long dream, and very vivid especially the part about the alien grabbing me and then later in the dream I ripped up a card but didn’t want to lose the pieces, so I was clutching the pieces in my hand. When I woke, I thought I was still holding them!

      Thank you, Dr. Laura! Can I set up an emergency psychotherapy session with you, please? :D

    • I wish I could that with really good dreams!

      I’ll occasionally write down my dreams, especially when they’re so vivid and weird. I thought this particular dream was interesting, so I wanted to write it down before I forgot the details.

Leave a Reply

