“Who are You Wearing?”

We had more snow this morning! It must’ve happened overnight, because the day before things seemed slushy but bearable. I woke up to the sound of the lady doing the traffic report, and her report sounded bad. Thankfully the girl I usually drive to work didn’t need a ride, so I could get started as soon as I was ready. The roads were terrible, but I was careful, I kept my distance and I made it into work. It was quite empowering, actually. I felt more cheerful. I felt even better when two of my favorite coworkers were there with me.

Some students didn’t think to check in to see if classes were canceled. They fought through that thick snow only to find out it wasn’t necessary. Most of them were very understanding. One conversation, though, went a little somethin’ like this:

Me: Did you know morning classes were canceled?
Student: Well that would’ve been helpful to me an hour ago.
Me: For future reference you can check (particular website)…
Student: So I’m supposed to check every single website out there?
Me: Not every site, just….
Student: I f****ing hate this school, I f***king HATE it!”
Then he stormed out. I do hope he had safe travels, but dang!

Another student called ahead and found out she didn’t need to come in. Then she asked me why I was there, and I said that staff still needed to show up. She told me to be careful on the way home. That was refreshing.

Since I volunteered to work this past President’s Day, I was able to leave work at 11am. The streets weren’t much better, but it feels different when heading home.

Anyway! Here’s the Friday5 meme!

Who in your life should win Best Director for his or her work in 2010?
That would be my coworker who is the director’s assistant. She is a good friend of mine and my team leader for the walkathon, and she puts up with so much crap from people at work and still maintains her sense of humor and strength. We have joked in the past about our inner “filters” so that we avoid saying the wrong thing to the person who’s really asking for it.

Who in your life should win Best Actor and Actress in Supporting Roles for their performances in 2010?
My mom and my friends. Thank you, all. I will give you an Oscar and the best chocolate.

For what 2010 project, display, or outfit will you win the Best Visual Effects award?
Well my favorite dress is black with large, purple blossoms on them. That dress always makes me feel pretty and powerful.

What terrific display of self-restraint or self-correction in 2010 earns you the Best Editor award?
I did mention we’ve gone through a renovation, and although my coworker has received the brunt of the complaints, I have received a few myself. The bulk of those were from coworkers. They’d complain if there was a double rainbow outside. They’d say it was too cheerful and distracting. I would love to be snarky with them. I have been mildy smart-assy since I know they’re receptive to it, but sometimes they weren’t even worth that effort.

Of these Best Picture nominees, which title could best serve as the title of your 2010: 127 Hours, Black Swan, The Fighter, Inception, The Kids are All Right, The King’s Speech, The Social Network, Toy Story 3, True Grit, or Winter’s Bone?
“The Fighter”, since today I fought the incredibly snowy streets and won.

5 thoughts on ““Who are You Wearing?”

  1. Laura: I’d like to find more dresses like that, because the one I have is so comfortable and it never needs ironing!

    Churlita: Freezing rain is also fun. I’m sorry you couldn’t ski, I hope you get another chance!

Leave a Reply

