Turn in Your Permission Slips!

Okay, class! It’s time to go on an excursion! Find your partner, line up and make sure I have your signed permission slip. If you have to use the restrooms, now would be a good time.

1. Of excursions you remember taking in elementary school, which was your favorite?

I liked the trip to Hale Farm, one of our historical villages. The main reason I liked that particular trip was because the kid I had a crush on asked me to be field trip partners.

2. Of excursions you remember taking in elementary school, which was your least favorite?

The one trip I didn’t like was to the local school during a Halloween while I was in Elementary school (not a field trip). I went with my friend and her parents, and I remember being terrified of the people dressed as witches leading me into a room with an operating table. Blergh. My friend’s dad was holding me, and he turned around as soon as I freaked.

3. What seems like a really good school excursion destination that nobody seems to take?

It’s been awhile since I’ve been on a school excursion, but I think it would be cool to take kids to the science center we have, or to the Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame & Museum. Oh, and to Progressive Field! As a kid, I would’ve loved to have been able to walk out onto the baseball field, even though I wasn’t a sports fan then, either.

4. Which of your recent activities might pass for an educational excursion?

Going to Walmart is always educational – one way or the other. :)

5. When a sack lunch was needed for a field trip, what was most likely in your brown paper bag? How about now?

A peanut butter sandwich, a piece of fruit and a bag of chips or Fritos. Almost the same nowadays, except maybe instead of a PB sandwich, I would accept a tunafish or turkey with mayo.

3 thoughts on “Turn in Your Permission Slips!

  1. I think the best field trip was to the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia. World class science museum with a giant heart you can walk through. Most awesome thing ever.

    Worse…walking uptown to “see” President Bush Sr. speak when he was running for office. Obviously, as 4th graders, none of us really had any interest in politics so it was heaps boring and there were SOOO many people that it was just a mess. It wasn’t a total loss though as my Dad chaperoned the trip and he’s awesome.

    Most awkward trip, 8th grade to historical Philly. My dad chaperoned which should have been awesome (and kind of was) except my English teacher was SERIOUSLY into him that it was embarrassing.

  2. My most memorable one was in early high school or in middle school. We went to some garden, and we got on the bus and I sat down and I realized I had a tick on my upper upper thigh. The counselor (female) got it off me.

Leave a Reply

