Calendar Ideas, Computers and Blogthings

Hey everybody! I’m posting this from work because my computer at home has bit the dust. I will be buying a new one. Any suggestions of what brand I should get? I don’t want to spend oodles of cash, but I would like something that has more gigabytes and whoozeewhatszits.

Oh and, since September will eventually be here next week, I’d love to see your ideas for the next calendar! Share your thoughts, pretty pleeeeease!

Here’s another quiz thing from Blogthings:


You Are a Peacemaker Soul


You strive to please others and will compromise anyway you can.
War or conflict bothers you, and you will do anything to keep the peace.
You are a good mediator and a true negotiator.
Sometimes you do too much, trying so hard to make people happy.

While you keep the peace, you tend to be secretly judgmental.
You lose respect for people who don’t like to both give and take.
On the flip side, you’ve got a great sense of humor and wit.
You’re always diplomatic and able to give good advice.

Souls you are most compatible with: Warrior Soul, Hunter Soul and Visionary Soul

8 thoughts on “Calendar Ideas, Computers and Blogthings

  1. Sorry about your computer. I feel your pain. I went with Dell because I get a discount there.

    Stinky’s birthday is the 22nd of September. How about you best fall (did you take a header off of your bike or down the stairs?) for the beginning of Fall?

  2. You will be happy to know that this is one of the few months when there are no laura b. birthdays :-)
    How about….
    Blog About a School Memory Day
    Apple Appreciation Day – do you have a favorite variety?
    To go along with the Jewish High Holy Days in Sept, how about a Day of Atonement?

    And look…not twins! I had to really think about my answers for this one!
    You Are a Visionary Soul
    You are a curious person, always in a state of awareness.
    Connected to all things spiritual, you are very in touch with your soul.
    You are wise and bright: able to reason and be reasonable.
    Occasionally, you get quite depressed and have dark feelings.

    You have great vision and can be very insightful.
    In fact, you are often profound in a way that surprises yourself.
    Visionary souls like you can be the best type of friend.
    You are intuitive, understanding, sympathetic, and a good healer.

    Souls you are most compatible with: Old Soul and Peacemaker Soul

  3. A new computer! How exciting, okay I’m a nerd and proud! We bought a Hewlett Packard desktop and it’s been great so far. For me personally, I have a Toshiba netbook and while it can’t do the things the HP can, it suits my surfing needs and I can use it lying on the sofa (a big plus factor!).

  4. I’ve had a Dell, HP, and am currently typing on a Toshiba laptop which only runs in safe mode at the moment. I’d recommend Dell if you’re not looking for a super-pooter but are looking for a value. They have a decent “Let us build a PC for you” tool on their website.

    As for September…hopefully I’ll be moving. Can’t pin a date down though. Sorry.

    And that quiz called me Old!

    [i]You Are an Old Soul
    You are an experienced soul who appreciates tradition.
    Mellow and wise, you like to be with others but also to be alone.
    Down to earth, you are sensible and impatient.
    A creature of habit, it takes you a while to warm up to new people.

    You hate injustice, and you’re very protective of family and friends
    A bit demanding, you expect proper behavior from others.
    Extremely independent you don’t mind living or being alone.
    But when you find love, you tend to want marriage right away.

    Souls you are most compatible with: Warrior Soul and Visionary Soul [i]

  5. Churlita: I’ve heard Dell is really good. I’ll be looking in the Sunday ads for a new toy this weekend. I’ve gone without a home computer for a few days now. Yikes! :) And thank you for the holiday!

    Laura B: My family won’t have any birthdays next month either! It’s back on in October, though! :) Thank you for the holidays! And even though we’re not Blogthings twins this time, it says our personalities are still compatible! As if we didn’t already know.

    FW: Hey, new computers make me happy, too! I can’t wait to pick one out! I had an HP 3-in-one printer, and it lasted a long time. I’ve never had a laptop, though.

    KenV: That was rude of that quiz to call you “old”! That’s harsh! :) Well sometime in September you’ll be moving, so we’ll have a moving-related holiday listed! Maybe a Move Your Furniture Day.

    Tim: I like that idea, I’m especially up for new pens – and maybe a pack or two of PostIts!

  6. Try looking at CNET.com and Amazon for computer reviews. That’s what I do when I have to buy some big electronic purchase. At the very least, you’ll have some opinions from people who’ve purchased the items. And you’ll feel good knowing you’ve made an informed decision. Good luck with the new computer. A lot them should be on sale for the back to school season.

  7. Eros: Thank you! I was talking to my brother this weekend, and he suggested I get a Mac. He likes his and said that they are much faster and don’t get viruses as much as PCs do. So that’s what I bought. It’s really cool!

Leave a Reply

