“The Pipes, the Pipes are Calling”

On Friday while tinkering with Facebook, I found a family friend. How’s that for alliteration? Anyway, he told me that he’d be working at the Irish Cultural Fest at the nearby fairgrounds that weekend, and that I should stop by and say “hello”. I also found out he’s a friend of a guy who was one of our employment contacts when I was working in my last position! I found him on Facebook too, and he was going to be a performer at the Irish fest!

A group of us met up that Saturday afternoon to walk around, listen to music (including bagpipes), shop and eat. I was able to find my friend, R, but I didn’t get to see M perform. I got the scoop on more family friends; how they’re doing, where they are, etc. They had a big family, and it seemed like half of the street I grew up on was theirs. It was really nice to catch up with him.

When it came time to order the food, I had a corned beef and slaw sandwich. Yum. The funnel cakes were around the corner, but I waited until I was ready to leave to pick one up.

We sat down at the stadium to wait for an Irish band that would play at 5, but there was another band finishing up their songs. They were really good, I liked the inclusion of a fiddle player and bagpiper. It was a really interesting blend. Meanwhile, storms were brewing during one of our most humid days. We saw lightening bolts scatter across the sky, and people started to leave. We were under a roof, for the most part, but when the rain arrived, it blew into the stands and soaked everyone.

The next band, the one a friend of mine wanted to see, played a bit before it started to rain, and then they ducked into a truck until the rain stopped. They decided to move their music underneath the bleachers, and give their devoted listeners an unplugged concert. It was so cool. I’m going to have to buy their music, they rocked. They also had a fiddle player, and another band member played an accordion. Tamborines were involved as well.

We eventually scattered after their concert, and while my remaining group dispersed, I went to pick up a funnel cake. While I walked, I sipped on a bottle of water, until too much water went down my throat wrong, and I started hacking. Nobody turned to see if I was okay (I was, I just had to cough it out), I just walked and coughed until I couldn’t cough no mo’. Anyway, I got the funnel cake and it survived overnight until I took it to my mom’s place. She made me a bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich and we had the cake for dessert.

We watched “Mr. Mom” and “Silver Bullet”, and laughed at both movies. I haven’t seen my mom laugh that hard in a long time, and it was over the perfect, stupid stuff. We were still laughing later that day, but knew that, if we explained it to anyone else, it wouldn’t sound as funny. Just one of those “had to be there” moments. :)

What did all of you do this weekend?

6 thoughts on ““The Pipes, the Pipes are Calling”

  1. I have to say, I have been really happy with my Facebooking experience. There are some people it is hard to imagine I would have reconnected with, without it.
    The Irish Cultural Fest, with all the great friends and music and food sounds wonderful, even with rain :-)
    I love those times, like with your mom…just that good feeling of laughing together. What a great weekend you had!

  2. FW: Chilled out weekends are really nice. The live music was excellent!

    Laura B: Oh I know! I have run into so many of my childhood and school friends through Facebook. Much cheaper than Classmates.com! :D

Leave a Reply

