Say, What’s that Beer You’re Wearing?

I had my brother, his family and our mom over yesterday for a Father’s Day picnic! They were supposed to come over at noon, so I went outside around 10:30am to claim a grill and picnic table. I didn’t have to fight over one, but I totally would have thrown down if someone had threatened me.

Once I had poured out some charcoal, then distributed and stacked it properly (so proper that my brother, the king of barbecuing, commended me for it), I followed my mom’s advice and stapled the table cloth to the picnic table because it was windy and I didn’t want the cloth to become a kite.

It was then that I looked up at our apartment’s gazebo and noticed the resident creepy guy sitting there watching me. Blergh. I wrote about him briefly awhile back, he used to greet people by kissing the tops of their hands. I don’t think he has a job (he once told told me while I was trying to pick up my mail), so he spends his days smoking outside and sometimes lurking in the lobby, holding doors open for people and chatting with everyone. Anyway, when I noticed him, we said hello to each other, and then I distracted myself with getting more things ready for the barbecue. Thankfully he eventually went back into the apartment.

Well things started to fall into place, the grill was nice and hot and my family showed up. I started the grilling and the menu included hotdogs and hamburger and baked beans, and my mom brought over her awesome potato salad and also a side of succotash. I had s’more fixings for dessert. My brother brought over some really good beer from Pennsylvania. It had a slight taste of marachino cherry to it. I had just opened a fresh bottle of the stuff when my brother reached over to get a hamburger bun and knocked over my bottle. Don’t worry, we were able to save the bottle before it all spilled out. I smelled like beer for the rest of the day, though. Beer and bbq – it drives the men wild, I’m sure.

Sarcasm about spilled beer aside, we all had a great time! My brother brought his fishing pole and went fishing in the nearby lake. One of my nephews read a book in the shade while his brother spent time catching really small fish with his dad and causing mischief with the poppers I bought for fun. They’re little pearls of gunpowder (at least I think it’s gunpowder) that you can throw on the ground and they make a loud “pop!” sound.

We eventually went back into my apartment, and while my brother and sister-in-law cleaned up for me (which was a super nice surprise), my nephew showed us a video he and his college friends made on YouTube.  It was an assignment for one of their multimedia classes. A commercial for beer – basically them dancing and lipsyncing to a heavy metal song and acting things out. It was hilarious. Check it out here. My nephew’s the one in the beginning who’s pouring the “beer” (I highly doubt it’s the real stuff….not that they don’t drink the real thing off camera, but this was for a class). Their class, including the instructor, loved it!

So how was your weekend? Happy Belated Father’s Day!

8 thoughts on “Say, What’s that Beer You’re Wearing?

  1. That sounds like an awesome day. I think your cologne of bbq and beer was probably much more enticing than my eau de partially masticated food from the mouths of toddlers. haha!

    I’m glad Mr Creepy Man didn’t bother you. I am going to have a look at that video when I get home and can once again access streaming video.

  2. Churlita: Maybe bbq and beer is an aphrodisiac for the guys! Hmm, maybe I need to be a fragrance chemist!

    Laura B: I hope you do get to check out the video. It makes me laugh every time, and I’m 20% sure I’m not biased! :P

  3. Sounds like a fantastic father’s day/family cookout! Good food, good laughs, good company. Poppers are fun! They were very important weapons in our ninja arsenal when we were little kids growing up in the old neighborhood.

    That’s a great video your nephew and his friends did for their assignment! Funny! Definite A+!!!

Leave a Reply

