“Why Don’t I Rent the Movie! Genius!”

I decided to do something yesterday that I’ve never done before. It’s all due to that darn book, “The Pocket Therapist” and that blasted, helpful website “Beyond Blue”. I was reading about ways to meet new people, and one idea was to sign up for a book club. I looked up my local library’s website and found out that there will be a book discussion in June, and that the book that will be discussed will be available to pick up at the library’s circulation desk. I decided to go after work to pick up the book.

Being hot and tired almost made me change my mind, as did the realization that I’d be heading into rush hour traffic on a street currently under construction. It would’ve been so easy to just go straight home and change into shorts and have dinner. I could always go tomorrow, I figured. No, because by then I would really change my mind about it. Let’s go! I did not say any of those thoughts out loud, mind you, and I don’t have multiple personalities, but I guess the grown up me was giving a pep talk to lazy me.

Anyway, the book is “People of the Book” by Geraldine Brooks. I didn’t read what it was about, didn’t want to read anything about it before digging into the book. No distractions, people. I started reading it last night and so far so good. I need to get it all read by mid June. I have a hard time finishing books, so wish me luck! :)

8 thoughts on ““Why Don’t I Rent the Movie! Genius!”

  1. I keep telling myself that I should start attending my library’s book discussions but I have yet to work up the nerve. I need your motivation.

  2. Silver: I’m taking baby steps about this whole thing, actually. I need to get myself to finish the book first and then motivate myself to talk about it with other people. I haven’t done that since college!

    Churlita: Thank you, I appreciate that faith! :)

    AlienCG: I’ve thought about joining NaNoWriMo, just not 100% ready yet.

  3. I do a lot of reading and often think about reading whatever is up for discussion at my library’s book club. Still haven’t made the move though.

    I haven’t read this book, although I did read her book, March. I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of it…the description sounds great to me.

  4. I hope you have a good time at the book club. It’s always interesting to see other people’s perspectives on literature. You might hear some very interesting or funny things, and you may surprise yourself with your own thoughts and interpretation of the work.

Leave a Reply

