I Said What?

One of the students at the school I work for came up to the desk asking for something. He works for us and is really fun to joke with and tease, and he is the professional pest I think I referred to in an earlier post.

“Can I have change for a 10, please?” He asks in his best begging voice and his best, pitiful expression.

“I can’t, we don’t have that much up here. Financial Aid might be able to help!”

“But I’m asking you, and you need to fulfill my wishes!” I’m paraphrasing here, but that was very close to what he actually said with the same pitiful expression.

“But Financial Aid has some cash!” I offered again.

“Ah, I don’t want to go all the way back there,” he whined.

I shrugged and said, “Sorry, babe!” The words just slipped out automatically, but I’ve never called anyone ‘babe’ before, at least not to their face. If I’m watching a movie that has one of my crushes in it, I’ll call them ‘babe’ or ‘honey’. Like, “Oh honey/babe, you can’t fall in love with her, you’re a hitman!” I don’t have a crush on the guy who works for us, though, honest.

I also called someone ‘dude’ once, and that was automatic too – it was kind of fitting for the person, actually.

So anyway, while I’m in shock about what I had said to him, he wasn’t, and just continued with the original conversation. I told him, “I can’t believe I just called you ‘babe’.

To which he replied, “Well that’s cuz I’m lovable!”

There ya have it. How can you argue with that answer?

7 thoughts on “I Said What?

  1. Ha! With all that wheeling and dealing and spinning things in a positive light, that student has a future in politics!

    I’ve called a few women, “ma’am”, automatically, out of courtesy. They got pissed off because they assumed I meant they were old. I had to clarify that I didn’t mean they were old. It’s just automatic response taught to me at a young age when addressing a lady. It’s a term of respect.

  2. when I was working in a Nursing home years ago for school, I mistakenly called a resident honey. I was given a stern leacture on the do’s and don’ts of waht you can say.. I was floored as it was considered to be a term of endearment.. But apparently my supervisor was more offended by that than the resident, who simply smiled at me.. go figure.. at least this guy you called “babe” wasn’t offended and had a sense of humour..

  3. Eros: I usually use “sir” or “ma’am” over the phone, thankfully and so far, nobody has made a fuss about it. It’s how I was brought up too, it’s a sign of respect.

    Silver: I do too! Yup, this time it just slipped out of my mouth. Actually, I shouldn’t be that surprised, I’ll call my cat “babe” too, if I’m telling her she can’t have any more treats. I’ll say, “Sorry, babe!” :P Maybe the guy reminds me of my cat.

    BabyBull: Oh I know my mom has a hang up about being called honey by some people. I’m thankful that the student wasn’t upset. I would never have let that slip out with anyone else, though.

Leave a Reply

