“Game On!”

This week was filled with nice surprises! First of all, I guess Wednesday was Administrative Professionals Day. Happy Administrative Professionals Day to all of you professional adminstratives! :) I thought it was next week, actually. Either way, though, I was expecting it to be just another day. Even though I was doing administrative work in my last position, I wasn’t quite sure if I was considered a secretary or office assistant. And even if I was considered clerical, I don’t think the people in my previous department were into remembering such holidays. You would have to shout about your own birthday through a megaphone for a month in advance if you wanted to get a birthday nod. But not in my new department! Before I took a birthday vacation last month, I received a birthday card signed by three of my coworkers!

Anyway, so on Wednesday, after I had to drop my car off at the mechanic because my brake light blinked on and off last weekend, I talked to a coworker who said her manager had her door decorated and gave her a really nice card and everything. A really nice gesture! Refreshing! As I started my day, and while I was on the phone with a customer, a manager from a department I assist came in and gave me a beautiful bouquet of pink tulips and a greeting card! If I was to expect anything from anyone, she would’ve been the last person I would expect to give me something. She’s a hard person to read, and sometimes looks like she’s gonna tear into you on a bad day. And she has been known to tear into people.  So this was a wonderful surprise. Plus, the card she gave me was signed by everyone in her department! Some wrote more than just their name, they wrote a nice, brief message.  Then after lunch I saw another card in my mailbox from another department I’ve been assisting since I started this new position!

One of the guys I used to work with in the other department came in, saw someone else’s door decoration and asked her if it was her birthday. When he was told it was Administrative Professionals Day, he said, “Oh I’m gonna have to get something for my wife!” I heard someone remark to him, “So if it’s not about you, you totally forget?” Ouch, but that’s usually how his brain works. Then on his way back to his office he shot me a quick “Happy Administrative Professionals Day!” It’s something, right? ;)

Remember how I told you that I would have to stay behind while everyone else went to Dave & Busters for games and lunch? Well things changed and I was able to go! The girl that relieves me at the desk for lunch and at the end of the day said that she didn’t want to go and asked if I wanted to go instead. Hell yes! I’d have to be back earlier than everyone else to relieve her while she picked up her daughter, but I would be able to go! It was a beautiful day, too. We had a fajita buffet with a delicious berry dessert and then we were able to go play arcade games. Each person received a game card worth 10 bucks. I was able to play about four games before I had to head back to the office, but I was so glad I was able to hang out with my coworkers.

Oh! As for my car, I took it in so they could find out what was wrong, and all it needed was more brake fluid (I used my brakes a lot this past Winter). They refilled my brake fluid, tested my brakes, which were fine, and didn’t charge me one cent!

Last night I sat down and watched “Robocop”. When I first saw that movie at the theaters, a few scenes were pretty disturbing for me, basically the pre-Robocop, police brutality gang scene. I also thought that the robot the one guy introduced at the board meeting was kind of scary and intimidating. But I still love the movie and can watch it without feeling disturbed in any way. The only disturbing thing is the fact that I’m not disturbed at the revenge scenes. Muah ha ha.

That’s how this week has been rolling along! I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!

5 thoughts on ““Game On!”

  1. How wonderful that you are finally working in an area where you are more fully appreciated! You so deserve it.
    I’m really, really glad to hear you ended up getting to go to Dave & Busters too :-)
    In another Mother of the Year moment (not) I will admit that Handsome Lad loves Robocop. sigh. Yes, that is kind of disturbing.

  2. Well, Happy Professional Administrators Week to you!

    I’m glad you got recognition and appreciation for all your hard work! Secretaries and Receptionists are some of the hardest working people I know. When I was in college, I bought a cheese cake for the dept secretary and she shared with her coworkers. She was so surprised and moved by the gesture that she wrote me a lovely thank you note. The professors didn’t realize it was Professional Administrators Week, and they all got the secretary flowers and gifts the rest of the week. And the professors remembered me as the thoughtful student and treated me real well for the rest of my time in college. Bonus!

    I’m glad you got to enjoy Dave and Busters. I like going there and eating and playing their games. It’s a lot of fun. And that’s so awesome your coworker worked it out with you so that you both benefited! You’re definitely in the right job working with the right people! Things do happen for a reason.

  3. NoR: Yes, it makes a huge difference! Especially the way I feel about Mondays!

    Churlita: Thank you! :)

    Laura B: Dave & Busters was so much fun, I wish we had one closer!

    Eros: Thank you so much! :) I’ve been there twice in my life and both times the food has been really good.

Leave a Reply

