“Who knows what heights we’ll hit….”

– My mom’s birthday was last Thursday (March 4th)! We planned to celebrate it during the weekend. She got a wonderful present the next day – went for her yearly mammogram and everything turned out great! Yay! She had breast cancer awhile back, so naturally this was a huge relief.

– I was ready to get the hell out of work on Friday. It had been a stressful week for me. My manager said something to me that at the time sounded a little harsh, and I have been running it through my head over and over again. I put a status on my Facebook page about it – that having many years of experience at the same job is both a blessing and a curse. I have a fairly new manager who depends on me to memorize the polices and procedures which seem to change and intensify every year, and a coworker (almost as new as our manager but with a few hard months under his belt) who frankly doesn’t give a crap. Anyway, my new manager depended on me to know something that wasn’t just a black or white, yes or no answer, and when I didn’t he got a bit huffy and said I wasn’t showing enough confidence, that he depended on me to know such things. I became quiet and explained other things to him, showed him what I did actually know. Then I went back to my office, closed my door (which I rarely do) and avoided him as much as possible for the rest of the day. It was one of those days where I thought a good walk would do me good, but the freakin sidewalks were covered in snow. But it still helped. The bright side is that he wound up finding stuff out on his own, and we both learned something….I hope.

– Anyway, the weekend! It was fun. On Saturday my mom and I went out shopping, bought some Spring decorations and some other stuff. Then the plan was for me to treat her to lunch for a belated birthday gift. We went to the nearest steakhouse and we both had the best steaks we’ve had in a long time. We’re going back there, for sure. Plus, our waiter had a black patch over one eye. Although I’m sure whatever happened was painful for him – well it just looked cool. And he was efficient, kind and patient.

– On Sunday, after all the chores were done, I decided to watch not only the Oscars but the Barbara Walter’s Special and the Red Carpet ceremony. My main purpose for watching the red carpet thing was to see what Joel McHale will pick on for the next episode of “The Soup”. I loved the interview Barbara Walters had with Sandra Bullock. What got me laughing was when Walters asked Bullock what she would do if Meryll Streep won the award for Best Actress. Her response was, “I’m gonna beat the shit out of her.” They bleeped it out, of course, but I thought it was funny.

– Thankfully and to my surprise, the actual Oscars ceremony kept me amused. I loved, LOVED the spoof Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin did on “Paranormal Activity”:

I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at an awards show, it was the best! Just when I thought I couldn’t be happier, that little clip was an introduction to an honor of horror movies! I was grinning so much it hurt.

So yesterday I went to the usual Monday choir rehearsal, and we all learned that our director went skiing this weekend, took a bit of a tumble and got a concussion! Thankfully he was pretty much the same and was able to be himself. He apologized for spacing out during choir (I didn’t notice it, but I guess the guys did), then explained his concussion. Someone (the Cackler) joked, “What’s your excuse every other time??? *Cackle!*”

– Speaking of “The Cackler”, she was granted a solo bit during one of our songs. Thankfully it’s a brief bit, and the only reason I say that is because it’s an extremely high, Soprano note. Like pitches that Mariah Carey used to hit. He chose her to do that solo, and it’s such a sharp solo that I noticed the guys in the front trying to subtly plug their ears. I have to give her credit, though, I don’t think many people could hit the note that was way off the scale.

– And that is it for this week so far! How did the weekend pan out for everyone?

11 thoughts on ““Who knows what heights we’ll hit….”

  1. I’m glad your mum had some great news for her birthday :-)
    I thought the video clip was very funny and I haven’t even seen the film!
    Sometimes I think other people are wound too tight at work, it would all be so much easier if people didn’t get so huffy about things.

  2. Congratulations and Cheers for your Mom!

    You handled the work stress professionally. That manager needs to know their job! And it was kind of rude how they said that to you, even if they didn’t realize how whiny and bitchy they sound when they complain like that. You did great in keeping it professional and not letting your emotions get the best of you.

    Steak with mom sounds nice. I totally missed the Oscars til the last 3 awards. That clip is funny. Glad your choir director is okay and that is funny about the fellas plugging their ears to avoid the shrieking.

  3. So happy for your mom! that is absolutely the best gift/news one can have.

    I didn’t watch the oscars, it’s a bit too long for my tastes. Notice you mentioned the soup and it reminds me that I haven’t seen it in ages, wonder if I can watch it on the net… hmm, will look that one up.

    Sucks about work, don’t let it get to you, it sounds like you handled it really well. I’m similar in that things like that start echoing in my head and I rile myself up too much. The walk was a good idea.

  4. Great news about your mom…I love that you had a pirate server at your lunch :-)
    I didn’t watch any of the Oscars, but not I kind of regret it. Seems like it was entertaining for once.
    I really like my boss, but she is a little like that…assuming I know everything because I have been here longest in this dept. My old boss directs her to ask me about things too! There is a flattering aspect to it, but also a ‘learn your sh*t’ aspect to it!
    Do dogs howl when Cackler hits her high note?

  5. I had missed the opeing of the horror part.. They both gave me a chuckle though when picking on certain people.. again Happy Birthday to Tara’s Mom.. Steak is yummy.. look forward to having some this summer.. Your manager needs to get a pair.. Glad that you were able to get out clear your head..

  6. FW: Yes, it would make things much better in the office and outside of the office if we could all just relax. I want to teach myself to stop worrying about stuff like that. I’m glad you liked that video! It still makes me laugh!

    Eros: Thank you, sometimes I know I get flustered around my new manager because I don’t know what he’s going to get mad at yet. He’s a little intimidating right now. But the last thing I want to do is say something I’ll regret like my other coworker tends to do.

    Silver: The main thing I don’t like is if they get mad when I don’t have all the answers, when they need to learn to look things up themselves. They shouldn’t blame me for what they don’t know.

    Seb: I think “The Soup” is the best part of the “E! Channel”. Everything else is just muck.

    Churlita: Thank you, I hope she stays all clear too. Steve Martin made me laugh last time when he and Tina Fey did a bit during an awards ceremony.

    Laura B: We DID have a pirate server! It might’ve been inappropriate for me to shout, “Yarrrr!” in front of him, though. :)

    Yes, bosses do need to learn their sh*t.

    And I don’t know about dogs howling when the Cackler sings, but it did explain why my cat was clinging to the ceiling when I got home from practice. ;)

    BabyBull: Thank you again for wishing my mom a happy birthday! Oh yeah, definitely look forward to having some steaks on the grill during the Summer!

    Manuel: I don’t get why the Cackler gets solos. She has had a few before during our Christmas concerts. He’s either secretly deaf or she’s blackmailing him about something.

Leave a Reply

