Hoops!….and YoYo?

Today’s “Friday 5” meme is all about hoops. Let’s get started!

1. When did you last feel you were required to jump through meaningless hoops to get something you wanted?:
– Back when I was trying to contact the phone company to get my phone, cable and internet hooked up. I almost developed a fear of the phone after that drama.

2. What kinds of hula hoop memories do you have?:
– Um…just that I had one and it was fun and stuff. I think my friends and I would try to twirl our hoops around our necks and our arms, too. We’d also let them roll down the sidewalk. Now you can play with a hula hoop on Wii Fit Plus, and talk about a workout!

3. How do you feel about basketball?:
Watching it is mind numbing. Playing it is kind of fun, but it’s not my favorite sport.

4. What do you think of hoop earrings?:
They’re fun! I used to have several pairs. Their only drawback was that they’d get caught, and if I pulled back my hair and caught my earring on my hand, it hurt a bit.

5. What’s your favorite Whoopi Goldberg movie?:
Well she was great in “Ghost”, but “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” is my favorite.

10 thoughts on “Hoops!….and YoYo?

  1. I love basketball! one of my favorites.

    I hate jumping through hoops, especially when it involves being on the phone trying to fix something that should be easy but becomes impossible because of the company you are dealing with.

  2. I used to love to go in my backyard and practice my free throws. I wasn’t too bad actually, one of my cousin’s taught me how to throw properly-I haven’t done it in years though so I think if I actually tried it now it wouldn’t go so well.

  3. Seb: Yeah, dealing with stuff like that on the phone is so annoying. While I was dealing with the phone drama, I was also trying to get through to Kodak because of a shipment problem. I used up tons of minutes on my cell phone that week.

    Churlita: I bought a hula hoop last year but just never felt like using it after that. So I gave it away.

    Silver: Shooting hoops is fun for me if I’m not playing basketball. That was pretty fun, there was something very satisfying about hearing the swish of the hoop as the ball went through.

    Laura B: Thanks, I liked your answers too! Don’t know why “The Color Purple” slipped my mind!

  4. I’ve had a strange desire to play Basketball since I first started watching One Tree Hill.

    Hmmm…

    As for Whoopi – I’m totally with you on Jumpin’ Jack Flash – love that movie!!

  5. I like your answers. Number 4, about the hair caught in the hoop earring made me go ‘Ouch’.

    1. When did you last feel you were required to jump through meaningless hoops to get something you wanted?:
    – That would be at work last month, when they unveiled a new system to report broken machines that needed to be fixed. The new system was a hotline that involved an awful lot of button pushing and waiting and repeating. It broke down after two days. I still used the old system of filing a report and sending it over the intranet so the tech guys could fix the down machines. The tech guys preferred the old method, too.

    2. What kinds of hula hoop memories do you have?:
    – It’s been years since I played with a hula hoop. When I was in grade school, we had competitions in PE where we had the hoop going around our legs, arms, necks, and however many on various body parts. I could do 3 max–around my waist and both arms. The dude that won the most could do his waist, his neck, both arms and a leg!!!

    3. How do you feel about basketball?:
    I’m not as into it as I was a few years ago. I’m a big fan of the shooters, though, a lot of these players are dunkers. And it seems like so many of these players have bad sportsmanship and legal problems, which seriously turns me off the game.

    4. What do you think of hoop earrings?:
    Some people look good with hoop earrings–fashionable women, exotic beauties, pirates.

    5. What’s your favorite Whoopi Goldberg movie?:
    I’ve a few. But when it comes to deep, moving movies, I have to say The Color Purple. When it comes to light hearted fun, I’d have to say the Sister Act movies. Luv singing nuns.

  6. Tim: That was a funny movie, I liked Carol Kane, Phil Hartman and Jon Lovitz in it too.

    Dmarks: Hey, I forgot about that one! Had to look that up, it was “Made in America”.

    Eros: I don’t know how I could forget to mention “Sister Act”. That was another one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

