Wish I had Sequined Bell Bottoms

I was supposed to go to my company’s Christmas party this past weekend. But then a friend of mine invited me to a Christmas disco party. We’d be encouraged to dance to disco songs. Plus, Santa would be there. Hmm…Spend time with coworkers who I wouldn’t be comfortable dancing in front of, or go to a fun party with a friend who I haven’t seen in a few months and dance my feet off? Plus, did I mention Santa would be there? So I made my decision. Disco was calling to me.

We were all going to drive together, so I started out towards my friend’s house, but was stopped by the police. Don’t panic, it was for a parade! They had some streets blocked off for a huge Christmas parade. After getting a bit irritated that I couldn’t get to my friend’s house until the parade was over, I eventually simmered down, turned off my engine and just enjoyed watching the show. I couldn’t get over how long it was, just when I thought I had seen the last group pass by, I would look down the street and notice more. But it was really nice!

Anyway, I eventually made it to my friend’s house, we hopped in the car and drove over to the party. It was a potluck, so I bought some cranberry-flavored ginger ale and had the bottle in the back of the car. During the trek to the party, the bottle slid around and bumped into stuff.

We got to the party and I put my bottle of pop down with the others and walked away, oblivious to what would happen if someone opened it up. A few minutes later I headed towards the food table. Some guy opened up my bottle and a bunch of fizz flew out and spilled on the carpet. The guy was kind of agitated, and asked, “Who shook up this bottle??” I sheepishly shrunk back into the crowd and took a detour to the food station.

The food was excellent, I love potlucks and I love buffets. There were chips and Doritos, some fancy appetizers and great desserts. Then when people had cleared away from the drink table, I poured myself a cup of the pop I brought.

I was introduced to a table of people when we first got there. One guy looked familiar, and it turned out he’s a fellow choir member! He’s the one that records our concerts. It was nice to see another familiar face at the party!

So the party was really fun. We sang Christmas songs, we played some games, Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus showed up and my friend and I both sat on his lap for a photo opportunity. I wish I had brought my camera. Hopefully we can see the photo that was taken.

Oh and yes we danced. We all, including little kids, danced to songs like “I Will Survive”, “It’s Raining Men”, “Brick House” and “Stayin’ Alive”. They also played a medley from “Grease”, which is always fun.

On Sunday after I visited my mom, I went home and watched “Lord of the Rings: Return of the King” and some other movies. I was going through a box of photos that my mom had in her condo. I’ll post a few when I’m done going through it.

How was your weekend? What did you do?

10 thoughts on “Wish I had Sequined Bell Bottoms

  1. I love pot lucks and casual parties but this weekend we went to a fancy dress ball (boo fancy dress) but there was a fantastic 12 piece band that played old motown hits – it was a lot of fun – they played some disco too.

  2. Sounds like a great time… I can see you, just shrinking back as the guy is yelling in anger, hehe… too funny.

    Neverending parade sounds like a great idea for a movie sequence or a drawing… hmmm…

  3. You did have a blast! I rarely go to office parties–but I luv participating in office pot lucks. I do enjoy going to other people’s holiday parties, because you get to see who they hang out with when they’re not hanging out with you.

  4. Churlita: The Lord of the Rings was on TV this past weekend. I really wanted to watch “The Two Towers”, but didn’t have much time.

    Laura B: I think we should all do a little dancing every weekend. Especially the disco type.

    Abroad: The Motown music would’ve helped me forget that I had to wear a formal dress!

    Seb: Oh I hope this post inspired you to do a drawing of a never ending parade! :) I thought of Dr. Seuss’s book, “And to Think that I Saw It on Mulberry Street” when I saw all the characters walking through the city.

    Eros: Yeah, the office potlucks I can definitely handle!

    Manuel: Thank you! The party had a nice mix of Christmas and disco.

    IDV: Oh I would certainly have to post a photo of my sequined bell bottoms if I found some. It’s just common sense! :)

Leave a Reply

