Blergh.

Soooo yeah, my mom had a relapse today and they moved her to the CCU (Coronary Care Unit)..She had shortness of breath again and her blood pressure is elevated. Thankfully she’ll be in a room with just one bed and she’ll be attached to a monitor so that they can keep a better eye on her. The nurse said this was probably all due to the pneumonia. When I left her today she had a mask on and it looked like she was getting ready to sleep.

I always feel weird leaving her, but I don’t know what else I could do. They wanted her to relax, that the breathing mask would make it difficult for her to talk. She’ll have the mask on overnight and if her breathing improves they’ll take it off of her.

Freaky, scary times. I don’t know if I should go into work or stay home tomorrow. I’ll worry wherever I go. I called my brothers and fielded some questions – some I didn’t know the answer to, so I feel stupid. I have lots of thoughts running through my head during these times.

That’s all for now, I’ll let you all know what’s going on if there’s a change. Thank you all for being a virtual shoulder to cry on.

12 thoughts on “Blergh.

  1. You should do whatever feels most comfortable for you…working or staying home. Either way, you are easily reachable.

    I know your mom is going to be fine, but I also know how stressful and scary this must be for you. I wish I were closer and could do something to help, but know that I’m there in spirit and sending good thoughts your way.

    ♥♥♥

  2. Oh no, what a rollercoaster for you! You’re doing everything you can. If you stay home you might just worry, I’d try to keep busy if I were you. My best wishes as you try to get through this and even more best wishes for your mom.

  3. So sorry to hear you’re mum’s not well, Tara – I’m thinking of you both and sending positive vibes all the way over the pond to you.

    Remember to take care of yourself as well, OK?

  4. Silver: Thank you!

    Suze: Thank you so much, Suze!

    AlienCG: I shall try! Thank you!

    Laura B: It’s been a very scary week, for sure. I did get to talk to her twice today and she actually sounds like she’s on the mend. Thank you so much!

    Churlita: They are very supportive. I wish they were all nearby right now, though.

    FW: I did go to work today, and I think it helped a little! Thank you! :)

    Tim: Thank you so much, Tim! I am remembering to take care of myself, too. :) And thank you for the positive vibes, I think they’re making their way over here!

  5. Seb: Aw, thank you so much! I am staying strong, just eager for my mom to get out of that place. It’s a wonderful hospital and I feel good knowing that they are taking good care of her, but….well it’s a hospital, it’s not home.

Leave a Reply

