Saturday Scavenger Shots: Honored

ClauClau

Okay here’s a roundabout story for this week’s Saturday Scavenger Shot word, “honored”, brought to us by Ananda Girl…

In September 2002, I was only about 5 months into my current job. My cat Claudia, seen in the photo above, was sick. To put it briefly and avoid the heartache of telling the entire story, she died before we could find out what was wrong with her. I was very distraught, so I called off work that day, failing to choke back the tears while explaining it to the receptionist. She understood.

So we handled the situation, said our good-byes to poor Claudia who had already moved on, and the rest of the day was kind of a blur amongst various errands. This happened on a Thursday.

I returned to work that Friday and was up at the reception area talking to some coworkers. One of them turned to me and said, “Congratulations!”…Um….okay.. I must’ve given both her and the receptionist a weird look because the receptionist, S, said, “Oh she doesn’t know!” (to the coworker) and then (to me), “There was a staff meeting yesterday and you were nominated Employee of the Month!” I was shocked and honored but still tried to register the news. The director of the school walked in, saw me and said, “I’m so sorry.” It’s funny now, the timing of everything. I told him, “I heard the other news that I’m Employee of the Month?” His facial expression changed to cheerful and he confirmed it.

Anyway, I got a plaque and I think something else…maybe a gift certificate. But I still have the plaque on the wall in my office.

11 thoughts on “Saturday Scavenger Shots: Honored

  1. That’s a complete high and low situation (except the other way around, which doesn’t quite read right), and it’s sad that both events had to happen in such close proximity to one another.

  2. AlienCG: Yeah that timing was strange.

    Seb: Very true..

    NoRegrets: I wasn’t sure if I had blogged about that weird day before.

    Churlita: Just to keep us on our toes, I guess.

    Tim: I know, talk about bittersweet, right? The director of the school sent me the anonymous emails of people who nominated me – comments about being a hard worker and stuff. It was really nice and it made me even more emotional. :D

    Manuel: I think it would’ve made a difference if I had heard the good news on the following Monday.

  3. Aw, I know it was a long time ago, but sorry about Claudia. She was so pretty…and I love that name. If Handsome Lad was a girl, he would have been Claudia :-)

    I can only imagine your face that whole time at the reception desk flying through all those emotions…sad, confused, happy, sad, happy…something like that. And of course, yes, that is a great honor! Yay Tara!

  4. Laura B: Thank you, she was the first cat my parents let me have. She was quite a character and my mom and I still remember some of her hijinks.

    My mom would’ve named me Joshua if I had been a boy. When Claudia died, we adopted a boy kitten and suggested my mom name him Joshua. And that is the name he was given and he is my mom’s roommate. :)

Leave a Reply

