Bears Don’t Say “Ain’t”

– I’m winding down at work here, after speaking in front of a classroom full of students. I wasn’t bad, but I know that I used “ums” and “uhs” a little too much. Funny, since I was talking to them about presenting themselves professionally during a job interview. I told them not to use too many “ums” and “uhs” and said, “Like I’m doing right now.” I was going for a bit of laughter, but didn’t hear any, so I quickly moved on to the next topic. Then I asked, “Any questions?” This time the silence was welcoming, and I waited a second and then started saying my “good-byes” but said I’d be in my office if any questions do pop up. This was a good group, though. Pretty attentive and when I thanked them for their time I heard one in the back say, “Thank you!” and a few people clapped. I’m taking that as a good thing. Hehe.

– Tomorrow is Friday and I only have to work till noon because I work a bit on Saturday. I have been invited to a birthday party my friend is having for her daughters, and we get to dress up in our Halloween costumes. And I do finally have everything I need for mine, so I will be attending the party in my costume.

– Last Saturday I was able to pick up the other movie I ordered through Amazon. I ordered the unedited version of Wes Craven’s movie “Cursed”, and I thoroughly enjoyed every second of that movie. Then last night I was in the mood to watch my copy of “Ghost Rider”, and enjoyed that one too. Have you seen these movies or at least one of them? What did you think?

“That’s all there is. There ain’t no more.” Do you know that song? Ksra and I sang it together once, and I think I posted it on here a few years ago. I learned the song when I was in grade school and in the Girl Scouts.

Here are the lyrics you were all dying to know. Don’t deny it:

“The other day I met a bear, out in the woods oh way out there.
***(there’s usually someone singing along as an echo each time)***
He looked at me, I looked at him. He sized up me, I sized up him.
He said to me, ‘Why don’t you run? I see you ain’t got any gun.’
And so I ran away from there, but right behind me was that bear.
And then I see ahead of me a great big tree, oh glory me.
The lowest branch was 10 feet high. I had to jump and trust my luck.
And so I jumped into the air, but I missed that branch oh way up there.
Now don’t you fret and don’t you frown. Cuz I caught that branch on the way back down.
That’s all there is, there ain’t no more. Unless I meet that bear once more.”

I had a friend at the time who was from Japan, and she sang that song in Japanese for our class. Good times.

7 thoughts on “Bears Don’t Say “Ain’t”

  1. I haven’t seen those movies, Cursed sounds cool, I love horror. Adding to to netflix, I’m overwhelmed at the moment. Just started the show Dexter… have you seen it? I was impressed with what I saw!

    As for the presentation, props to you. That is one of the hardest things in the world, freaks me out!

  2. That’s great your presentation went well. I bet those students were very grateful for the info.

    I’ve enjoyed watching both Cursed and Ghost Rider. And that surprise character twist in Cursed with that dude from Heroes was funny! As for Ghost Rider, I kept expecting a plastic bag to fly by when the villain made a screen appearance–but that’s just me and my weird hobby of trying to recognize actors and what movies I’ve seen them in before.

    Have fun at the party! I hope they’ve got caramel apples!

  3. Seb: I haven’t seen one episode of Dexter, but I really need to start because it looks like a unique series. Looks interesting! And knowing now that John Lithgow plays a role as a serial killer, I’m going to really have to see it.

    Eros: Hehe. I laughed at the plastic bag flying by remark. Wes Bentley certainly plays the odd roles, doesn’t he? In Ghost Rider I liked it when the guy says, “You really shouldn’t be here!” and he grins and says “That’s what they keep telling me.” Little things like that make me happy.

  4. Yeah, I don’t do well in front of crowds over the age of 14 or so. haha! I’m glad your presentation went well and I suspect that most of the students were very grateful to receive the information. If they weren’t, then they should be, those ingrateful brats!

    When do we get to find out what you costume is?!?!

    I haven’t seen either one of those movies, but I do kind of like Nicholas Cage…he’s rather quirky. Oh, and Dexter is sooo good. You should definitely check it out.

    I know that song! I remember singing it at camp as a camper and a counselor :-)

  5. I read an interesting thing in a book the other week – basically, the writer said that in business meetings his Dad would say “now” instead of um-ing or ah-ing because it served exactly the same purpose of helping him gather his thoughts, but also made it sound like he had something incredibly profound to say next!

  6. Churlita: It feels good when I’m done saying what I need to say and I can leave. I feel accomplished.

    Laura B.: Nicholas Cage has done some interesting movies. I loved him in Raising Arizona, and of course Moonstruck.

    Tim: Hey I’m gonna try that next time! Thanks Tim!

Leave a Reply

