Saturday Scavenger Shots: Jersey

I had such a crush on Bruce Springsteen back when “Born in the U.S.A.” was released. I loved his song and video “Dancing in the Dark” and wished I was Courtney Cox in the video, getting pulled up on stage to dance with him. I also dressed up as Bruce Springsteen for Halloween that year – guitar (made of cardboard), white shirt, jeans and my mom painted a 5 o’clock shadow/beard on me. I think I was in 6th grade at the time.

Later that night when a group of us went trick-or-treating, we saw the local TV station set up to interview some kids. We approached them, and the lady asked me who I was supposed to be, so I told her I was supposed to be Bruce Springsteen. “Oh? I’m not familiar with his music, could you sing one of his songs?” My shyness finally caught up with me, but not before I quickly sang one line, “Born in the U.S.A…” The lady said, “I couldn’t quite hear you, could you sing that louder? So I did, and I think that’s all she needed. She moved on to other kids, and I was so excited that I might be on the news.

I was! They were showing a funny montage of all the costumes that night, and I remember the lady showing a photo of a dog dressed up and said, “What’s a dog to do? Maybe ask Bruce Springsteen?” Suddenly I appeared and they showed the clip of me singing “Born in the U.S.A.”. My “fifteen minutes”…er…well seconds.

One of my brothers bought me a poster with Bruce Springsteen on it. The poster shows him lying down, wearing jeans and a black, leather jacket, looking all steamy and serious. I loved it, wish I still had that poster, because I would’ve posted that one instead of a photo I had to find online.

Anyway, the reason for me telling you all of this is because NoRegrets chose the word “Jersey” for this week’s Saturday Scavenger Shots. And since I never wear sports jerseys, I thought I’d talk about Bruce Springsteen who was born in New Jersey!

7 thoughts on “Saturday Scavenger Shots: Jersey

  1. Laura B.: No, sadly I don’t have a photo of me dressed up as the Boss. I don’t know why, usually my dad would take photos of my costumes each year. I don’t even remember him bringing a camera!

    Eros: It was such a fun night!

    AlienCG: I try to avoid the news cameras too, now, but as a kid we were so eager to appear on TV. I actually like “Glory Days” and “I’m on Fire”.

    NoRegrets: I wish I had a photo of that costume! I remember photos of costumes I’ve worn in the past, but not one with my Bruce costume! :(

    Seb: I wish I had a photo, but unfortunately I don’t. I’m not even sure if my dad took a photo that night!

    Churlita: Thanks! It was a bit of excitement for a Halloween night!

Leave a Reply

