“76 Trombones Led the Big Parade….”

– I’m going to be in a parade tomorrow night! Yay! Gonna be Ms. Ohio! No, actually I’m going with a small group of coworkers to represent at the local homecoming parade! I don’t think I’ve ever been in a parade! I was just asked today, because the lady who I guess planned some of it didn’t think I’d be able to walk because of my toe. But my toe is soooo much better now! I can stand on my tippy toes to turn on the air conditioning, and I can walk in my high-heel shoes. It’s like the lady in the commercials who has dentures and she can eat corn again. We just take those things for granted, ya know?

Anyway, so yes, I will be representing. There will be four of us – two will hold our company’s banner, two of us will be throwing candy. I should get my method down before showtime. Kind of like throwing chicken feed. I’m excited, people! It should be fun!

– Next Friday a small group from our choir will be singing patriotic songs with the local band. The guy who’s running the show has sent us a few updates for rehearsals. Monday we’ll practice for an hour, then Wednesday we’ll practice by ourselves first and then later with the band (are you taking notes yet?). Then it’s showtime! I’m excited about that too.

– I bought two more books this past weekend. I can buy books, oh yes. Getting myself off the internet and spending quality time reading those books is another story. The first book I bought this weekend, suggested by my lovely, awesome friend Ksra, is “Now, Discover Your Strengths”. It talks about how we’re so conditioned to dig into ourselves and find our faults and search for ways to fix them, but we never sit down and sort out our strengths. The book talks about taking stock of your strengths and using them to make your life happier and more fulfilling. It certainly gets me thinking, and that’s a great thing!

My mom and I went to a flea market on Sunday and just as we were ready to stop looking at stuff, I found the book “The Omen” in a box of other books. Had to buy it. Fifty cents.

Well I think that’s all I have in my head now. I feel like I’ve been slacking again with my blog, but it’s only been a few days. I was thinking of taking a blogging vacation – just take a break from it, but I can’t stay away from all of your blogs. And when I read your blogs I get all inspired again. See what you’ve done? Tsk.

16 thoughts on ““76 Trombones Led the Big Parade….”

  1. Alright, we all love a parade! Have fun throwing candy. Then performing with a band sounds fun, too. Hopefully, your buddy the cackler won’t be there.

    I have a few books to read at the moment. I should really get to reading, myself. Have fun and quit slacking.

  2. Yeah for parade (and free candy)! I luv parades! I’ve been in a few with various groups over the years, but it’s been years since I marched in one. Way to go!

    It sounds like the local band is going to be a lot of fun! That’s so cool you get to jam with them with some of your singing buddies.

  3. Suze: I sure will! What kind? Chocolates? Jellybeans?

    AlienCG: Knowing the cackler and her love for music, she will probably join us. But it’ll be okay. More blogging material, right?

    Thank you, I will have fun and cut down on my slacking.

    Eros: Thank you! It’ll be crazy being in the parade and throwing candy, instead of being the kid scrambling for the candy!

  4. Ksra: Hey there! Haven’t taken the test yet, because I thought maybe I had to read the book first before taking it…But if that’s not necessary I will definitely take the test today! Don’t mutilate your nails completely! :)

  5. There’s no reading requirement for the test. (It’s not that kind of test… you can’t get any answers wrong) But I will say that I did read the entire book before taking the test. Devoured it whole. Yes I did. :)

  6. Parade! Whenever I think of a parade I think of the parade in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and also the parade at the end of Animal House.

    I’m sure I’ve been to parades, specially when I was young, but I can’t remember it…

    Cool about the Omen, bet that’s a scary read.

  7. I am a seasoned parade participant, although it has been awhile. I was in Drill Team in high school…many parades were involved. Then when my kids were small it seems like there were often parade opportunities. I’ll admit it, marching music can make me a little verklempt :-) Have fun!!!
    I hope you enjoy your choral performance also. You are such a super star!
    Enjoy all of your reading…you know how I feel about that. Yeah, I’m a fan. And a special congratulations on your flea market find!
    I am always so happy to see your posts or your comments. Everyone deserves a break, but think of your fans! It’s not all about you anymore! hee hee :-)

  8. k_sra: While I haven’t devoured the book whole (I’m trying to cut back), I do find it very interesting and I’m looking forward to reading more! I did take the test a few hours ago! Here’s my top five: Empathy, Harmony, Restorative, Developer and Input. Hmmm…Verrry interesting..

    Churlita: I guess we’ll have to wait till next year, they actually canceled the parade due to rain. :(

    Tim: Yup! I love flea markets.

    Daffy: My coworker bought the candy only for us to find out later that the parade was canceled. All that candy – oh what to do with it? Hmm..

    Seb: Oh yeah, the “Twist and Shout” scene! Very cool.

    Laura B.: The patriotic music we’ll be singing next week might get me phaklempt. The parade, on the other hand, was canceled cuz of the rain. We were looking forward to participating!

    Thank you so much for the compliment! It is not about us anymore, it’s true. We blog for our fans. :)

  9. NoRegrets: Thank you about the blog comment, it’s very true. And I love buying books at that price!

    Ksra: I keep thinking about those five, and they are really on the mark! I’m not surprised that you’re Empathy too! Empathetic minds think alike. :)

Leave a Reply

