Stands with a Fist

Just a couple of things –

– Remember when I said I broke my pinky toe? Well today was the first day I could actually walk normally with a shoe on. Woot! It still hurts in the morning and at the end of the day, and I noticed some delayed bruising on my foot, but it is a huge improvement.

– I had a confrontation with my associate last week about resumes. I know – hard core, right? The issue needed further discussion and thinking about it the night before, imagining there’d be a huge blowout, caused me to lose some serious sleep. But sleep or no sleep, I marched into my coworker’s office the next day. He was enjoying a PopTart and part of me felt bad for wrecking his breakfast. Long story short, we both got frustrated, he snapped at me a few times, said the Lord’s name in vain…you know…totally professional. I won’t go into all the issues I had that made me want to confront him, but one of those reasons had to do with the fact that it felt like my professional opinion was ignored and worthless, that, after working in that hell hole for 7 years, whatever I learned was wrong and he was the only one who was right. I’m not saying that my version of a resume is perfect, but he shouldn’t think his is either. I told him that I wish he respected my opinion and my feelings (which sounded a lot like we were dating). He said he did respect my opinion (which I seriously doubt). I also said that some students like the version of resume that was in a packet I handed out. He flat out said something very close to, “That one is crap.” To which I replied, “That’s MY version!” Then he fell back a bit saying that there are good points to my version and…well it just went back and forth like that. I told him that, since he’s not going to give in and I’m not going to give in, that we should get a third opinion from the new department director we were going to get the following week. He argued a bit more and then finally said, “Fine” (to the idea of getting another opinion). We eventually settled into a discussion just a bit off the path of our argument and then he apologized for yelling. A day after our new manager arrived, I sat down with the guy and I showed him both resume versions. I was honest, I said I did not like the layout of the other style, but I did not trash my associate behind his back. The new guy saw benefits in both styles, but settled on my coworker’s. I still feel successful because I told it like it was and we have a higher authority making a decision. He saw my side too, which was nice. I hate confrontations and I don’t like friction within the department, but I’ll be damned if I’m gonna let someone trash all over MY experience and knowledge.

– My mom and I are venturing out to another town tomorrow and will finally dine at “The Melting Pot”. We need to check that place out – we both love fondue. Then later on a movie – not sure what we’ll see – either “Up” or “Public Enemies”. Hard to say, I confuse the two.

So that’s that in a nutshell! I hope all of you have a fun, Independence Day weekend! Or for those who don’t celebrate that day, I hope you have a fun weekend!

7 thoughts on “Stands with a Fist

  1. I hate confrontations as well. You came up with a good solution, too bad your coworker yelled though, that’s not very professional.

    Good to hear the toe is doing better. The smaller digits are always the most troublesome.

  2. I am so proud of you! You know me and confrontations…you done good though. You stood your ground respectfully, but strongly.
    You must be glad to finally have a supervisor on board! It had been quite a while, hadn’t it?

    Have fun eating fondue and going to the movies. I think either one of those movies would be good…Up is supposed to be really cute and Public Enemies has the very cute Johnny Depp. Can’t really go wrong.

  3. I’m so proud of you for being assertive, professional, and standing up for yourself! You kept your cool and you’ve earned a great reputation.

    You were brave and smart for discussing the situation with the new manager, because now, you’ve got it off your chest and you won’t wonder about what if and regret not saying anything. You did a fantastic job of resolving the crisis and coming out looking all the better and much more professional out of it. Congratulations!

    Enjoy the fondue and the movies! You’ve earned it!

  4. Confrontations with coworkers is always hard. I have one or witness one almost every week at my job-it’s stressful. I try not losing sleep over it though, it’s not worth it.

  5. I never liked work confrontations myself. Luckily, my last job was more of a cooperative effort and there was little conflict. I hope to find another job like that, and soon.

    Have a Happy Independence Day. Enjoy yourself.

  6. Seb: I was glad that he realized it and apologized.

    Laura B: Thank you! Yes, it had been too long since we had a proper manager. So far it seems like this guy wants to learn as much as possible, which is a very good sign.

    Eros: Thank you! I kept my cool for the most part, but I was so nervous. It’ll be easier next time I need to discuss something.

    Silver: I need to find a way to relax and clear my thoughts (at least the negative ones) before I go to bed.

    AlienCG: It’s nice when there’s a pleasant work environment. Makes things so much easier. Hope you had a happy 4th!

    Churlita: We went to see the non 3D version of “Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs”. Awesome movie!

Leave a Reply

