I’m Honored!!

Thank you very, very much to LB for awarding me the One Lovely Blog Award! Yay! Here it is:

As if that isn’t awesome enough, this particular award is attached to a meme! Here we go:

5 Obsessions

1. Checking my email – if I don’t want to check Facebook at work or my blog, I know that whatever happens will trickle into my Inbox.

2. Walmart – I’ve actually simmered down about that for awhile – I only go in there three times a week rather than five, six or seven. Once they finish renovating and the transformation from regular Walmart to a Walmart Supercenter is complete, I can’t make any promises.

3. Movie Quotes – I love them, what else can I say? I love recognizing and appreciating a great quote, I love remembering a good quote, quotes have made me laugh…You get the point.

4. Facebook – Damn you, “Fashionista” and “Farm Town”! (waves fist in air)

5. The International Movie Database (aka http://www.IMDB.com) – When I’m in a memory frenzy and need to look up who played who in what movie, I stop whatever I’m doing and look it up on that site.

5 Dislikes

1. Having an unreachable itch in the middle of my back in the middle of the night.

2. The whole “Jon and Kate Plus 8” saga. I hate waking up to the radio stations talking about it, I hate seeing their faces everywhere…..I don’t get it, nor do I want to.

3. Speaking of radio stations, I hate dislike the fact that 106.5 got rid of the DJs named Brian and Joe. My mom told me about it, and it was a shock to me. Cutbacks I guess, but I was so annoyed by their replacement that I finally converted to another radio station. And then yesterday that other radio station annoyed me too. Guess I’ll have to go station hopping for awhile.

4. Being pressured into confrontations or presentations – our school director wants me to do two teaching sessions this quarter. Doesn’t seem like much to some, but it’s an anxiety nightmare for shy people who don’t like speaking in front of groups. Plus, it’s about resume writing and my associate and I have different opinions. So do I teach what he believes in or do I teach my way and upset the applecart as they say? Or do I wait until we have a department manager and ask his opinion?

5. The situation at work – My associate and I have been stuck in a “steal-caged death match” for too long now, like George Costanza and Lloyd Brawn from “Seinfeld”. There’s talk of a new manager coming soon (waiting on background check), so I pray that he is a very good manager and can lay down the good law and everything will start looking up. Because believe me, when I’m looking for jobs for students and grads, my eyes are peeled for myself as well.

5 Tagged (If you don’t feel like doing the meme, that’s okay – I still love you all and your award privileges will never be revoked)

BabyBull @ The Northern Sky Chronicles
Ksra @ You Learn Something New (Almost) Everyday
Suze @ Suzel’s Sass
SilverNeurotic @ Quarter-Life Chronicles
Abroad @ Gifts from Abroad

I chose the blogging chicks too like LB did, because the award does have a flowery, feminine goodness to it. Gentlemen, your time will come. Thank you again for the award, LB!

13 thoughts on “I’m Honored!!

  1. See? You did it the right way. Good job. I wonder if your radio station is owned by Clear Channel. They are a sucky company that used the recession as a way to get rid of all of their longer time staff and replace them with people they don’t have to pay as much.

    I’m obsessed with FAcebook too. It;s so fun to “stalk” people and look at all of their photos.

  2. Aw, thanks for this, Tara :-) Hey, you too Churlita!
    We have some of the same obsessions…email and facebook, for sure. And boy, I am so, so tired of hearing about Jon and Kate. They are both rather miserable people as far as I can tell. Let them be. And I really hope you get a great new manager. It is NOT a good time to be looking for work…

  3. I’m tired of the Jon and Kate crap too, and the worst part is that Jon seems to like the area I live in so the media coverage is insane at times. lol

  4. Churlita: Yup, they are owned by Clear Channel. First they let go of their producer who was also funny, and then they let go of the Brian & Joe. Then it all turned to crap.

    And yes, it is very fun to “stalk” people on Facebook!

    Laura B: Thank you for the award and the meme! I agree, it is not a good time to look for work – there’s nothing much out there that looks good to me.

    Seb: Yes, a little virtual gift wrapped up in the best paper – begging to be opened.

    NoRegrets: Been there, done that with forgetting what I wanted to comment about. Lol. Thank you, though!

    Suze: You deserve the award, you’re blog is so funny, I love it!

  5. Congratulations! You do have a lovely blog.

    That sucks when corporate idiots cut out quality workers to save money. That radio station is going to lose some serious advertising dollars.

    Ya know, I’ve never seen a whole episode of Jon and Kate, because I thought, geez they’re making a huge mistake! Why would you want to expose your family and kids on reality tv? For the money? That’s just sad and disturbing.

    I hope you get a great manager. Or at the very least, you find something that you luv! Don’t let those mofos at work get to you. You are a talented, intelligent, and strong individual.

    Perhaps you can present both types of resume styles as options for the audience. Good luck!

  6. BabyBull: Thank you! Have fun with the meme!

    Eros: Thanks to you too! Yeah, that station has already lost many people. Thankfully the DJs that were let go are now on Facebook! It’s nice to reconnect with them.

  7. Wow! Thanks Tara – how cool! An award and a meme all wrapped up together in a bow. I would have responded sooner, but we’ve been away for a long weekend. I’m so happy to be back and have a new meme that will force me to write a blog post. Seriously we spent the whole weekend with my husbands family and if I wrote a blog post about it now – it probably would ruin my marriage.

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

