List and Discuss Your Top Five Favorite Restaurants

Okay, thought I’d jump back on the calendar wagon and refer to today’s holiday. I’m not going to list fast food restaurants, but that’ll probably be another holiday. I love fast food, but there are other restaurants to make this particular list.

1. Applebee’s – I love their food, especially the steaks. Some of my friends and family and I have gathered there for fun evenings of eating, chatting and flirting (I went out for a coffee date with a guy from the restaurant – he was a friend of one of my coworkers at McDonald’s and my matchmaking coworker gave me his number). Although the TVs are always on over the bar, they aren’t distracting or too loud.

2. Macaroni Grill – Actually, the main thing I like about this restaurant is the gigantic, warm roll they put on the table with a bowl of extra virgin olive oil sprinkled with herbs. I don’t know of anything else on their menu, I just know they have that roll…Oh and Irish Creme coffee with whipped cream.

3. Sweet Mango – A Thai restaurant I found out about through a former coworker. They opened up a restaurant in my town and I fell in love with the place, especially their dish called Beef Macadamia. Scrumptious. I also love their bubble tea. I know it’s not for everyone, but…well in that case…more for me! Muah ha ha.

4. The Eastland Inn – It’s a little pub in a nearby town. It’s such a nice little place, made even better after smoking was prohibited. My favorite dish of theirs is the stuffed artichoke “boots”. Artichoke hearts stuffed with an herby cream cheese and served with a mustard sauce for dipping. Everything is reasonably priced.

5. Don’s Pomeroy House – This one is considered a rare treat because they have amazing but expensive food. We usually buy our grad speakers a gift certificate to the place, and when we had contests at work the prize was lunch at the Pomeroy House. My mom and I went there for her birthday last year. Their steak and seafood are highly recommended. I also ordered a pan-broiled chicken, or something like that. Some of the juiciest chicken I’ve ever eaten. Very good stuff.

I could mention Olive Garden, Santo’s, Rubi Tuesdays and TGI Fridays, because they also have some nice food (Santo’s makes a mean chicken Parmesan, and I love the salads at Olive Garden), but the list has been made.

What are your top five favorite restaurants?

8 thoughts on “List and Discuss Your Top Five Favorite Restaurants

  1. 1. Tony Packo’s Cafe, Toledo, OH
    2. Cracker Barrel, Everywhere
    3. Cape Fear Barbecue, Fayetteville, NC
    4. Golden Rule BBQ, Auburn, AL
    5. Dragon Gate Chinese, Cleveland, OH

    There ya go.

  2. Hmmm…..let’s see. My top 5 RESTAURANTS ( I will exclude fast food) are

    1. Crush 29 – fancy, classy American style restaurant
    2. Melting pot – Fondue!
    3. House of Chicken and Ribs – GREAT soul food
    4. The Squeeze Inn – Makes the best burger
    5. Mas – Mexican at its best!

  3. Well, I had a list of faves til I went to Greece; now I’m just spoiled and think the Greek restaurants were way better than my American faves!

    But, what the heck, I’ll see what I still like:

    1. Burger King: I like the taste of the flame broiled whopper. I remember the Big King! It was my fave burger; don’t know if they still make it.

    2. McDonald’s: for the Big Mac!

    3. Taco Bell: for the chalupas! Which I found out aren’t really what Mexicans call chalupas. It’s a Taco Bell original.

    4. Chilis: for the quesidillas.

    5. Golden Corral: for the buffet.

    Actually, I’m just listing off a few I could go for right now. I used to luv Applebees in Georgia, but the local one here is just so so…I also like Chinese food, but I usually go to buffets or this local fast food place called Hunan Express. I have to admit though that the fave restaurant list is subject to changes depending on what I’m in the mood for ;)

  4. Oh, fun! Yours sound great, Tara. I really like Applebees and Macaroni Grill too…have you ever had the “make your own bowl” pasta where you get to pick the ingrediants? Oh my gawd…
    Um, anyway…
    1. Golden Dragon Chinese – Glendora, CA
    2. Thai Spices – Arcadia, CA
    3. Peppertree (diner style, American) – Glendora, CA
    4. Glendora Continental Restaurant (Basque and Continental American cuisine) – Glendora, CA
    5. Norm’s Hangar (a diner at the local airfield, only open for breakfast and lunch) – La Verne, CA
    All local, affordable, delicious.

  5. I used to do work functions at Don’s Pomeroy. They had a great room upstairs. That was a long time ago. Since I used to do so many work functions at fancy restaurants, I tend to choose moderate priced restaurants when I get to pick.

    1. Sweet Tomatoes (a salad buffet chain based in California, but all over the country)
    2. Macaroni Grill (but only the design your own pasta bowl since most of their stuff is killer fattening)
    3. any good NY-style pizza joint
    4. Cheesecake Factory (I never get the cheesecake, but their menu is amazing)
    5. Aladdin’s Eatery (NE Ohio chain of middle eastern food)

  6. AlienCG: I’ve only been to Cracker Barrel once or twice – can’t remember the food they served, though. I’m sure it was tasty. I liked their gift shop in the waiting area.

    Manuel: I still have to go to the Melting Pot! My mom calls it “The Dipping Place”. It’s catchy – but I need to try their fondue.

    Eros: We used to have a Golden Corral nearby but they shut that one down. I love buffets.

    Churlita: Well whenever you talk about that one restaurant or bar that serves cheese fries, that always sounds so good.

    Laura B.: We have something like Norm’s Hangar here where it’s near the airport, but ours is called the 100th Bomb Group. Nice place! It’s so nice when a place provides great food and affordable prices.

    NJ: Hi! I’ve never been to the Cheesecake Factory, but I know there’s one at Crocker Park. The Sweet Tomatoes restaurant sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

