“Three little birds, sat on my window. And they told me I don’t need to worry.”

I don’t have much else to say today, I’m very tired. I tossed and turned for a large chunk of the night, thinking about the meeting we were scheduled to have today with our school manager. What was she gonna say? Has she hired someone to be our department manager yet? What’s the scoop? Well I need not have lost any sleep, because there wasn’t anything new to report. We’re in limbo right now regarding any word on hiring someone else, so we’ll stay the course. She did tell us to keep up the good work, we’re doing an excellent job. It’s helpful and nice to get feedback like that every so often.

On to some other things – just stuff I overheard while we were set up at the sale:

A woman was walking behind her husband who was pushing a stroller. He stopped suddenly and she said, “If you stop in front of me like that one more time, I swear.”

Then while I was sitting at our table, I heard a couple looking at books in the section next to us.:

Guy: “You’re looking at books?”
Girl: “Yeah!”
Guy: “Don’t you have….like…600 of them?”
Girl: “Yes, but I don’t have this one.”

Finished off a long, stressful and mildly frustrating day by going to a Thanksgiving meal in May over at my friend’s place. We had it on her porch. Friends, food, chatter and a nice breeze that occasionally blew through. I love this time of year.

9 thoughts on ““Three little birds, sat on my window. And they told me I don’t need to worry.”

  1. I like those stories… they crack me up. That ladies’ anger at her husband, I can perfectly picture it…

    And how could someone criticize their friend for looking at books, books are the coolest!

  2. Seb: People just love it when there are tables set up with books on them. And book sales at the library? Mass hysteria.

    Malcolm: Hi! That’s so true. We’ve been kind of lacking in motivation in our department, so a little pep talk can go a long way.

    K_sra: You were definitely missed. Eventually you and Squiggles will be able to attend another porch party, or a Thanksgiving dinner in Spring or maybe an Easter dinner in October!

    FW: Yes, it really was nice – I love my friend’s porch parties.

    Churlita: Ohh, I know. I can’t wait either. I have a half day tomorrow, work a little on Saturday, but I consider that to be kind of a day off too. It’ll be peaceful (I hope!). And then I can enjoy the rest of the weekend.

  3. I am in a similar wait and see situation at work. It can be stressful. I’m glad that you had that full on Thanksgiving feast and friendfest to relax you.

    I am planning to spend this weekend doing nothing but destressing :-)

  4. Laura B: De-stressing is one of my favorite things to do – it involves sleeping in as much as you can and then doing whatever you want, even if that involves just kicking back with a cold drink and watching the neighborhood.

    Seb: Oh yeah, you need to find one and pick out oodles of books and read till your heart’s content!

Leave a Reply

