Damn it, Jim! I’m a Blogger, Not a Movie Critic!

Whatta weekend! It was great, but when they are busy and stuff they go so fast. Here are some highlights:

– Ksra’s baby shower went off without any huge glitches. Breakfast, coffee and orange juice were on hand, plus there were games and of course the gifts! We eventually all filtered out in the afternoon after mingling and chit-chatting.  A pleasant, sunny day! After all that, I went back to my apartment and took a little, refreshing and revitalizing nap. Then I did the laundry and spent the rest of the day relaxin.

– Today, of course, was Mother’s Day! My mom came over in the afternoon and the two of us met up with my brother and sister-in-law at Lowe’s where they treated her to some plants that she wanted to buy. I bought her a shepherd’s crook for hanging some plants and stuff. Also bought our tickets to see “Star Trek”..

– Which brings me to “Star Trek”. I liked it ah lot. The first part of the movie was very intense and emotional. Made me realize I hadn’t taken a breath for awhile, and that was before the title of the movie was introduced. The young James T. Kirk is a cocky smart ass who needs his butt kicked a few times in the movie (like when Spock did the job with just one maneuver).  It’s just that a few of those moments took a little longer than necessary. Plus, how can someone get punched so much (especially by a Romulan) and not seem to have any lasting marks? Is it just Earth-bound punches that leave scars? Anyway, enough of the dissecting.   I loved the movie, especially the introduction of the characters; Spock (love the emotional, half Vulcan, half human angle), Scotty (I had only known Simon Pegg from “Shaun of the Dead” and thought he’d be too hammy but he really impressed me) and of course Dr. Leonard “Damn it, Jim!” McCoy. This is a movie definitely worth seeing at the theater, definitely worth both the discounted matinee price and regular price of a movie ticket.

– Onto other things. I bought a small bottle of the new perfume inspired by Halle Berry. I tried it a week ago and loved the scent. Even better was that my wrist which I sprayed a sampling on did not get all itchy. I went looking for the perfume at another store, but they didn’t have it. Today before the movie, I went to good ole Walmart and picked up a small bottle. I’m not a big perfume girl, there aren’t many that I like. But this one I did. I just bought the small bottle, so if I get sick of it there won’t be too much of a waste. I also bought the movie “The Fifth Element” on DVD at the wonderful cost of 5 bucks, and some natural skin toner infused with Vitamin C. Hopefully until payday that’ll be the end of my spending spree.

How was your weekend? What did ya do?

8 thoughts on “Damn it, Jim! I’m a Blogger, Not a Movie Critic!

  1. For some reason, I have no desire to see Star Trek. I never got into any of the TV series that came out over the centuries. Oh well, I guess I’ll wait for the Trekkers to flame me now.

  2. The baby shower sounds like it was fun…and you treated your mom right on her special day, so yay!

    I have heard lots of good things about Star Trek. I am not a Trekkie or Trekker (that’s the prefered term, yes?), but I am a bit curious.

  3. AlienCG: I never really got into it either, but my a few of my brothers would watch the original series. I remember catching a few episodes myself and remember the characters and the theme song. The whole origin thing this summer is interesting.

    Churlita: Thanks! I think you’ll really love this movie. The guy who played Spock was really good. Well they all were great!

    Laura B.: I’m not a Trekkie either, but I loved seeing the characters and how they all started.

    Tim: Do you think they’ll be making another one with the same cast?

    Suze: I really hope you enjoy the movie! The audience was getting into it a bit. It’s the kind of movie that gets people excited. And the perfume smells really nice. Not overpowering.

Leave a Reply

