Ahhh, the Great Outdoors Meme

Here’s this week’s meme from Friday5. Fill it out if the mood strikes.

1. When did you last sleep in a tent?:
– More than ten years ago and in the backyard of our old house.

2. What comes to mind when you think about relieving yourself in the great outdoors?
– What comes to mind is that I wish there were facilities in the great outdoors. I like roughing it, but not in that department.

3. Where’s the best place you ever went camping?
– Two places, actually – Jellystone where I went with my family, some aunts and uncles and a few cousins. It was near Sea World and Geauga Lake in Aurora, Ohio. And then a campsite in South Fork, Ohio where we stayed while one of my brothers was in a bass fishing tournament. We slept on uneven, lumpy ground, but the rest of the vacation was fun.

4. What’s your favorite camp food?
Hotdogs and roasted marshmallows (but not combined)

5. What’s your sleeping bag like?
Kind of boring, I’m sure I had a more kid-like camping bag once upon a time, but now I have a navy blue bag that I use as an exercise/yoga mat instead of spending 12 bucks on a mat at Walmart or Target. Why the hell are they so expensive? They’re flat, rubber mats! Sorry, I went off on a bit of a tangent.

14 thoughts on “Ahhh, the Great Outdoors Meme

  1. Churlita: Summer is definitely made for camping! I hope you’re able to get some in again this season!

    Laura B: Exactly! Works really well as an exercise mat, it’s very comfortable!

    BabyBull: Hey there Neighbor of the North! :) So glad to see you commenting!

  2. Next time you come to visit your brothers in Phoenix we can let you sleep out in our back yard. We don’t have lumpy ground or amusement park rides near by but we do have scorpions and the occasional hungry coyote roaming buy. You may soon have a new “favorite” camping experience.
    We can even prepare hot dogs and marshmallows the way you like them (although make sure you clean up thoroughly before going to sleep that night because the smell of hot dog drippings and marshmallow attracts scorpions.

  3. Seb: No need to worry, s’mores are scrumptious! :)

    Kerry: Well hi there! I was actually looking up flight fares earlier today because I’m getting antsy to go on a vacation to see Arizona…Oh and my brothers who live there, of course. Considering the scorpion visits, I might pass on the outdoor camping in your backyard. But thanks for the offer!

  4. 1. When did you last sleep in a tent?

    –Maybe two weekends ago…at the beach

    2. What comes to mind when you think about relieving yourself in the great outdoors?

    –I hope they’re no deadly creatures around while I’m peeing! It’d be very hard to run and scream and pee at the same time.

    3. Where’s the best place you ever went camping?

    –One time in the woods of Georgia, near a creek. I remember it was clear skies, and at night, we could clearly see the Hale-Bop comet! It was amazing! No snakes around either, so that made that trip even better!

    4. What’s your favorite camp food?

    –Smores! And hot dogs!

    5. What’s your sleeping bag like?

    –Black and silver, with a hood to keep my head nice and warm on those chilly nights.

Leave a Reply

