Happy Thoughts

Enough about the negative stuff, here is a list of happy things!

– Listening to one good song after another on the radio, ITunes, MP3, Ipod, etc.

– Singing into a hairbrush to your favorite song(s)

– A good, hearty, hurts-to-breathe laugh over something stupid

– A cat sleeping contently nearby

– Knowing somehow that things will get better

– Having more than a shred of hope that we’ll all be okay soon

– A friendly, knowing smile from a coworker after a difficult week

– A friendly email

– A greeting card

– A coworker trusting you enough to confide (I love that this happens for two reasons – one, I do like that they trust me because they know I won’t repeat the news, and two because I like being able to relate to their problems. It’s so relaxing to be able to share our work problems through cynical, stupid humor).

– A successful phone call or presentation (I put these two together, because if they’re both done right I can feel on top of the world and everything else seems possible.)

– Feeling accomplished after exercising

– Catching a favorite movie on TV

– An authentic compliment (a student once told me that I was approachable and I never forgot it, then another student made my day by saying that he received several job offers after I helped him fix his resume – as down as I get about my job nowadays, those compliments are still rewards. And when I get complimented about my appearance, that’s a totally different, special compliment altogether. I feel attractive and confident. )

– The taste of a good meal.

– Knowing that, once you mentally dissect things, lots of things can be fixed or they don’t seem nearly as stressful as they did the day before.

What are your happy moments?

7 thoughts on “Happy Thoughts

  1. I have a lot of the same happy moments as you. I’ll just add that it’s pretty awesome to meet someone who you can be 100% yourself with-and find out that they like you despite all your strange quirks. :)

  2. Silver: Now that is definitely a happy thought! That’s awesome! :)

    AlienCG: I will try to keep the optimism going then! We can will the economy back in shape!

    Tim: Nope, nothing like it! Also love those sunny days whether there’s music or not!

    Laura B.: Good! The more happy people the better! :)

  3. Oh, this is a great list. I’m so with you on the unexpected compliments and the joy that makes a sometimes crappy job so worth it! It reminds you that you are making a difference in someone’s life, and that’s a great feeling.

    Good music and good laughs with good people and happy pets make for a great life.

    It’s those unexpected little things that make life fantastic. I also enjoy a good meal and sense of satisfaction for a job/task/activity well done–work or exercise or just cleaning out the clutter:)

Leave a Reply

