Frazzle Dazzle

– I almost fell into a box yesterday. I had one loaded up with some packets and instead of trying to lift it I started pushing the opened box along the floor. All was going well until I hit the border that divides carpet and linoleum and the box stopped but I almost didn’t. Would’ve been kind of amusing but painful at the same time. I looked behind me to see if anyone saw me, but by then I was too amused to care anyway.

– Instead of telling someone that a certain task isn’t part of my department, I think I’ll get in the habit of saying, “It’s not in my jurisdiction.” It sounds more official and Law & Orderish. I had to tell someone that last night, because he was looking at an old photo on the wall of a person who was student of the month last month. He said, “Why don’t they change the photo?”

“Should your photo be up there?” I teased.
“Well…(he shrugged with a grin)…I’m just sayin…”
I told him truthfully that I didn’t know who was in charge of that, and then eventually just told him, “It’s not in my jurisdiction.”

– My Denise Austen VHS arrived in the mail yesterday. It was a “new” VHS too, the wrapping was still on it. So when I’m able to go home at a decent hour this week, I will be able to workout to the tape. I could get one of her more modern DVDs, but I like the system she has going in her Super Stomachs routine.

– I love Hugh Jackman, but I found myself turning the channel during Oscar night, whenever he went into a big, theatrical number. I’m very impatient with those types of things, I just want them to show movie montages and present the awards. I did enjoy them performing the songs that were up for nomination, especially the two from “Slumdog Millionaire”. Oh and how awesome was it to have that get Best Picture? Also got very emotional when Heath Ledger won for Best Actor.

– This past weekend was a time to laugh my head off. Watched a comedian on TV on Saturday by the name of Kevin Hart. I was standing by, watching his special and had to lean against the wall because he had me laughing so hard. Then on Sunday I was enjoying YouTube and watching the bloopers from the later episodes of “Seinfeld”. Tears were running down my face. Total comic relief.

How was your weekend and Monday?

9 thoughts on “Frazzle Dazzle

  1. If I say I am laughing with you, not at you, about almost falling in the box, is that okay? It is funny :-)

    I am totally adopting the phrase “that is not in my jurisdiction”. I love it!

    Sounds like a great weekend, between your super stomach, a good dose of Hugh (I think it is exciting that Slumdog won too), and all that comedy. I love it when I can laugh that hard!

  2. I missed the Oscars this year and it sounds like it was a bad year to miss them.

    Laughter is the best therapy. I actually kind of like to be at home by myself laughing me head off to something. It’s a great release.

  3. Laura B: Oh yeah, it’s okay even if you were laughing AT me. I’m still running that incident through my head and it makes me laugh. I told a coworker what happened last night and she said it was too bad she didn’t catch it on video. We could’ve split the money if it won on America’s Funniest Home Videos. Hehe.

    Churlita: There were some funny moments at the Oscars this year. Ben Stiller imitated Joaquin Phoenix – had a bushy beard, sunglasses and he took out his chewing gum and placed it on the podium. Oh and Tina Fey and Steve Martin were great presenters!

  4. It’s a good thing you didn’t fall into the box, somebody might have sealed you in and mailed you off to some other country. I would have laughed only after finding out if you were OK.

    Hugh Jackman was originally a musical stage performer before breaking into Hollywood. He also starred in a Broadway production of “Oklahoma” after the original X-Men. Just a little FYI.

  5. I’m with you about the Oscars – just give out the darn awards already would ya! Not in my jurisdiction, I like it.

    I saw this weekend “Midnight on the Meat Train” – oh please don’t waste your time with it. I also saw “Madea Goes to Jail” which I thought was cute.

  6. AlienCG: Oh I knew about Hugh Jackman’s experience as a stage performer (he even told a late night host about an embarrassing experience on stage and I also heard that between takes on X-Men, he and Rebecca Romijn sang songs from musicals), and I’ve seen clips of him in “Oklahoma”. The man has an excellent stage voice, that’s for sure. I’m just not crazy about the drawn-out sequences during the Oscars.

    Tim: Haha, thanks..Yeah, now that you mention it, that is an unusual way of starting a blog post! Nope I wasn’t injured, so all is well.

    Suze: Yes! Thank you! Keep Hugh Jackman, just get to the point of the Oscars. I’ve heard of “Madea Goes to Jail” and will try to remember to Netflix it! Thanks for the suggestion!

  7. I’m not really an Oscar or awards season fan. Really, some of the best movies never win, and how some of the winners are chosen has me totally baffled. Why did Out of Africa win over The Color Purple for Best Picture?

    I’m glad to hear you didn’t fall into the box and hurt yourself. I like the “It’s not my jurisdiction” line. I plan to use it!

Leave a Reply

