Do Nothing and Don’t Feel Guilty About It Day

Jerry: So what did you do yesterday?
Elaine: Nothing.
Jerry: Well I know you did nothing, but what did you do?
Elaine: Literally nothing. I sat in a chair and I stared.
Jerry: That really is nothing!
Elaine: Told ya!
– from Seinfeld

Ms. Ksra sera provided this holiday for us, and when I started listing the holidays I didn’t realize that I put the holiday on a Sunday! The day for resting and doing nothing.

I almost did nothing today. While flipping through the channels on TV I came across a marathon of a show called “Predator Raw: The Unseen Tapes”. It shows the unseen footage and commentary from the Dateline series “To Catch a Predator”. Guys show up at this one house thinking they’re going to be meeting up with an underaged girl or boy they met on the internet. But the girl/boy is really a decoy and when they show up with beer and condoms (and sometimes without their clothes), Chris Hanson, the reporter of “To Catch a Predator” pops out and questions their reason for showing up. When they start to apologize or try to reason their way out of the situation, he reads the twisted, perverted transcripts from their online chat with the alleged minor.

The show is both nauseating in that these guys are so horribly nasty, but it’s also fascinating and amusing to see them leave the house thinking they’re set free only to find that it was a sting and police swarm in to arrest them. Their excuses are not original at all. Stuff like, “I knew it was wrong when I got here”, “This is my first time “, “I was just gonna talk to her/him!” and the one that really gets me is “I wanted to be his/her mentor!” Ugh.

I did hop on the exercise bike for a half hour, went to the store to pick up some supplies for work and a bag of Lindor Truffles and straightened up my kitchen. Now I’m in the process of ironing some clothes. So I did do some stuff. But when I wasn’t doing anything I certainly did not feel guilty about it! Mission accomplished.

7 thoughts on “Do Nothing and Don’t Feel Guilty About It Day

  1. They do have some very creepy people on ‘To catch a predator’! It makes me wonder, are these parents aware of the dangers their kids are exposed to online? The strangers are coming into their homes without their consent or knowledge! But that is funny when those perverts get busted!

    I slept til past noon–which is what I usually do on a Sunday off :) I was going to do some laundry, but it was such a small load and not worth wasting all those quarters. I had planned on watching the Superbowl, but mostly because I wanted to see the commercials!

  2. Ooh! Truffles! I tried calling Tara on Saturday, but she never answered, so I spent Sunday just moping around and doing nothing. Just kidding! No, but I did attempt a drive by since I was in the hood this weekend.

    Sunday, went to church and then lunch with my Dad, whom I haven’t seen in a month or so. Did a load of laundry (enough to merit the waste of quarters) and then watched the Super Bowl with my inlaws. Whatever it was I wasn’t doing, I didn’t bother feeling very guilty about, so that was very nice indeed. oh, and I liked the commercials more than the game, so I’m planning on throwing a Super bowl Commercial watching Party next year. Should be good times.

    We should have one of these every month or so. They are a nice holiday!

  3. “What are you doing here?” I love the Predator series, sad, infuriating and funny all at the same time.

    I went to my friend’s house out in Medina yesterday for a Super Bowl party (one of the best games I’ve seen in a while).

  4. I wasn’t able to observe that holiday this weekend…but it does come around for me every so often. I make sure of that!

    To Catch a Predator is so creepy, yet satisfying. I think the most disturbing one I ever saw was where that one guy had his four year old with him. Geez.

  5. Eros: I know, sometimes he asks them what they would think if their son or daughter was in that situation. None of them would like it. They just don’t get it.

    There was a special on Super Bowl commercials the other day but I wasn’t really impressed. There were a few funny ones, though.

    Churlita: You should have a day like that very soon.

    K_sra: I’m sorry I missed your drive-by on Saturday! You need to move to the west side. That’s all there is to it. :) Your Sunday sounds like it was fun!

    Tim: You did have quite the snow day! They’re perfect for relaxing.

    AlienCG: I love the look on some of their faces when he steps out. Even better is when he tells them who he is and his camera crew steps out.

    Laura B.: Ew, he brought his kid along? The ones that were on the other day involved transcripts where a pet would have to be involved. That’s very disturbing too.

Leave a Reply

