I’ve Taken a Lycan to Him

I need to confess this…Actually, not much of a confession as I don’t feel bad about it at all. Here it goes. I have a serious, serious, celebrity crush on Michael Sheen. There. I noticed him as Lucian, the leader of the Werewolves/Lycans in the movie “Underworld”, loved him when he played Tony Blair in “The Queen”, hope to see him as David Frost in the movie “Frost/Nixon” and finally today I had the pleasure of seeing him return as Lucian in “Underworld 3: Rise of the Lycans”. Dreamy. Not just his looks, the fact that he seemed to have done some serious working out to play the warrior, but his acting was intense. Nobody in the movie played their role like it was pretend.

Leader of the Lycans

Leader of the Lycans

Anyway, the movie is about the very beginning of the war between vampires and werewolves/lycans. In fact I believe there is a difference between werewolves and lycans…Lycans can change from human to werewolf whereas the regular werewolves don’t change at all and are always werewolves. Anyway, it shows what really happened to start the war. There’s betrayal, sadness, family friction, gore, romance and a bit of nudity. Something for everyone! I really liked it and now I want to watch “Underworld” again to see it in a different light.

Gotta love the previews that precede a horror movie, too. There was one preview to a supernatural movie called “The Haunting in Connecticut” which looked familiar. It’s about a family who moves into a house that turns out to be an old mortuary, and is haunted. Dawned me that there was a TV version of it on The Discovery Channel. The TV version freaked me out. I hope the movie does the same thing.

Also this weekend I was able to see “Slumdog Millionaire”. It’s about a teenager who grew up in the slums of Mumbai, India, winds up on the Indian version of “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?” but is suspected of cheating when he keeps getting the right answers. Throughout the movie we get flashbacks of his childhood and how he learned the answers to each trivia question. What an amazing, wonderful movie. Brutal and sad in some parts, but a wonderful movie. The music was great too and the movie holds your interest. I definitely recommend it!

14 thoughts on “I’ve Taken a Lycan to Him

  1. I want to see the new Underworld movie. I liked the first two in the series. I like Kate Beckinsale in those movies.

    I have no real desire to see Slumdog Millionaire (maybe if it’s on IFC or Sundance or Encore one day). I watched the Discovery Haunting in Connecticut. I just want to know how much creative license in being taken with the story.

  2. T-Bird: Yes, this one definitely passed the test! :)

    Churlita: Yeah, Slumdog was very brutal in some scenes. Made me cringe.

    AlienCG: Unfortunately, Beckinsale is only in the third one briefly and if I understood correctly, they showed a little girl in the beginning and I think Viktor called her Selene.

    The trailer to Haunting in Connecticut looks like it might take some liberties and be a little too over-the-top.

    Tim: You will see the new Underworld movie and you will like it. That’s an order.

  3. I like SciFi/Fantasy movies and I luv foreign films for two reason–they’re usually different from the same Hollywood formula that uses the same archetypes. I like films that are creative and have original plots and explore new, different ideas or views.

    I appreciate your reviews. They explain very well what your thoughts are on the movies.

  4. Wow, would you please send that guy over ASAP. Just to look at mind you. I’ll return him. Also, I’m going to see Slumdog Millionaire this weekend. I also heard it was very good. Thanks for the thumbs up. Now send the Lycan…please.

  5. Eros: Then you’d definitely like “Slumdog”. The story was told so well.

    Suze: Nope, sorry. He’s all mine. I’m afraid that once I lend him to you, I’ll never get him back. I need collateral or something.

    Laura B.: “Slumdog” is a must-see, definitely! And if you like the werewolf/vampire saga (or you just like looking at the lycans), you should have a look at “Rise of the Lycans”!

    K_sra: Oh I haven’t forgotten about him, don’t worry. I know you were worried. ;)

    (Pop!)(Pop!)(Pop!)

    Tim: Yesssssss!! Don’t make me have to send Lucian after you.

  6. Dmarks: I’m sure someone in either the vampire or lycan clan had that name, though. “Underworld 4: Rise of the Meldoo”

    Ksra: That lichen is hot! Actually the photos in that Wikipedia entry do look kind of neat. The one at the top in the center looks like sea coral.

Leave a Reply

