Hangover Cures for New Year’s Day

Hey everybody! It’s 2009! Yay! What did you do last night (if you can remember)? I did not go out anywhere. I bought a few more movies like “The 40 Year Old Virgin” (which I hated in the theater but it gets me laughing in the comfort of my own home) and “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” (the Tim Burton version). I watched those two last night while snacking on wonderful junk food and some low-carb beer (kind of like eating a Big Mac while drinking a diet Coke). Also watched the marathon on VH1 of “I Love the New Millennium”.

Yes, it was a wild night. Part of me wanted to go out to a bar with people, part of me wanted to just stay in and enjoy my own company. That part won, and guess what? I do not have a hangover, I did not drink too much last night. In fact I had a new, positive outlook about my job this morning. It’s probably the traditional “new year” kind of thought, but I started thinking that, when I go back to work next Monday, I intend to try not to let the little things get to me as much as they have been in the past three or four months. I also intend on getting a haircut within the next few days. Not a trimming, either. It’s time for a new look.

Anyway, enough of that. If you do have a hangover today, you have my complete and total sympathy. Today’s holiday, the first eclectic holiday of 2009, suggested by Churlita, is “Hangover Cures for New Year’s Day. So I looked up some and here is a small but mighty list.

1. Avoid caffeine. It dehydrates your system even more.

2. Sleep. Try to get plenty of rest. (In fact, if you do have a hangover, you shouldn’t even be up reading my blog at the moment.)

3. Drink plenty of fruit juice and water (especially orange juice for Vitamin C)

4. Drink a sports drink like Gatorade or Powerade

5. Eat mineral-rich food like pickles or canned fish. (I can see eating pickles, but when I read that about canned fish, well, yuck.)

Also, here’s an FYI: Drinking pickle juice is a common remedy in Poland.

Hope this all makes you feel better soon! To read more remedies, check out this link.

9 thoughts on “Hangover Cures for New Year’s Day

  1. Fortunately I do not have to use any of the hang over cures today (since I didn’t drink a single drop last night) but I will keep them in mind for future references.

  2. Oooh! A new look (for the blog and for Tara)! Sounds like you had a great New Year’s Eve, because you did what you wanted to do. That’s the most important thing. I like your new outlook on work; don’t sweat the small stuff!

  3. I don’t drink, but I still had a great New Year’s Eve with my family … and then went home and started reading a new book at two in the morning! Rock ‘n roll!!

    Loving the new look, by the way!

  4. AlienCG: That’s true, the ultimate cure or actual prevention of a hangover is to not drink alcohol at all.

    Laura B.: I did not need those tips either! Thanks I did enjoy the night and thank about the movies. I’m glad I found them and even better, they were cheap!

    Silver: That’s great that you didn’t need those tips! Sleep and vitamin C are usually good treatments for lots of ailments.

    Eroswings: Thanks, the blog change was spur-of-the-moment and the design jumped out at me. I will try to stick with the “don’t sweat the small stuff” resolution when I go back to work. Not always an easy task, but I shall try.

    Tim: That’s a nice way to spend New Year’s Eve, I like hanging out with family. This time I went over to my mom’s place on New Year’s Day rather than her come over New Year’s Eve. It was nice! Glad you enjoyed it! And enjoy your new book, too! Oh and thanks I’m glad you like the new blog look, too!

    NoRegrets: Ha, you need to put on sunglasses to look at mah blog.

    Laura B.: Thanks LB, I’m glad you like it, I just decided to change it last night and voila..New blog!

Leave a Reply

