Memory Reload: My Moment as a 7-Year-Old Hostess

This memory just popped back into my head, so while it is still there, I have to share it.

I don’t remember my exact age, but I’m guessing I was about 7 years old..maybe a little younger. It was Christmas Eve, we had just returned from church service. My parents, one of my brothers and his wife were in the kitchen preparing some food. They were expecting my sister-in-law’s parents to arrive. So I sat there on the couch, waiting…anxiously for all of them to get a move on so that we could start unwrapping presents. I got up and looked out the front door. There was a strange car in the driveway, and I recognized the passengers as my brother’s in-laws. They saw me and got out of the car. I welcomed them into our living room where they took off their coats and got comfortable.

I grabbed one of my favorite books, which was a scratch-n-sniff book as I recall, plopped back down on the couch next to the mother, I’ll call her Mrs. H, and proceeded to entertain them both by reading to them. Some words were still hard for me to understand, so I’d stop and point to the tricky ones. Mrs. H. would happily assist and then I was rolling along with the rest of the book.

Meanwhile, the adult folk in the kitchen had no idea this was all transpiring, but my sister-in-law wondered who I was talking to. They trailed into the living room and found Mr. and Mrs. H. all settled in and happy, while being read to by a 7-year-old.

My sister-in-law still remembers that moment, and her parents couldn’t get over how I just naturally made them feel welcome. I didn’t think I had it in me, actually. I was terribly shy. But I guess, since I knew them and they were a very kind couple, it was enough for me to play hostess.

Anyway, that concludes my memory reload for today. The memory made me laugh, so I had to share.

6 thoughts on “Memory Reload: My Moment as a 7-Year-Old Hostess

  1. When one of my cousin’s on my mother’s side of the family got married, I traveled to S.C. for the wedding (I was only 12). It was NOT a good situation there (and thus, I don’t speak to my mother’s side of the family today) but I do remember the groom’s parents were quite nice to me. The father made me a ring out of a five dollar bill.

  2. Well, how about that? Quite the hostess you were and still are with all your blog visitors. The mark of an excellent hostess is one who makes the guest feel very welcomed, and you certainly do that! Everyone loves listening to stories!

  3. Suze: That’s right! C’mon over! I’ll read you a book! :D

    Silver: That was very cool of him to make you that ring! It certainly makes a difference when people take that extra effort.

    Eroswings: Aw, thank you so much! I really appreciate that!

    Churlita: Thanks, I had a good laugh over the memory. One of those moments! :)

    Laura B.: Thank you, LB! :)

Leave a Reply

