Taste Test

Remember that book I blogged a review about awhile ago? The book was called “Take Me Out” by English author Martyn Clayton. Well I finished the book and it was a very good read. Now I’m onto the sequel called “Connections”. In that book, the main character makes a sandwich consisting of pickles/gherkins, potato chips, shredded cheddar and brown sauce/A1 sauce all on a granary roll. In response to a taste test the author did himself, I wanted to try the sandwich too. So I did just that the other night (adapting with some ingredients because I didn’t feel like going to the grocery store in the snow and rush hour traffic). I ate the whole dang sandwich! It was pretty good! So here are my findings on video:

18 thoughts on “Taste Test

  1. Hi Tara! – That was funny! Even though you said it tasted good, your expression (especially after the first couple of bites) seemed to say something else!

    Try crisps (potato chips), egg and a little pickle (gives it a zing) – one of my favourite sandwiches – you have to squash it firmly though…. mmm… I think I’ll get one now!

  2. I can’t believe you ate the WHOLE thing! ON CAMERA!!!! HAHAHHA! You are the most awesome woman I know. I like the bit where you brush crumbs off your decolletage. Dainty! :P

    Also, I want to try a similar sandwich only with ice cream instead of pickles, so thank you for the inspiration. :)

  3. Churlita: I think we should all be able to watch videos at work – Cuz while some are out having a smoke break, what about the rest of us who need breaks? ;)

    Andy: Hi! I always look uncertain when I’m trying something new – actually I made the sandwich again for lunch today. Weird, huh? :D

    Yum, that sandwich you describe sounds really tasty!

    K_sra: Yeah, that crumbs bit was classy, wasn’t it? Hehe. Let me know how the sandwich with ice cream, chips and cheddar tastes! :D

    Laura B.: Thanks! It wasn’t very gross at all, it was just different. I made another one for lunch today, actually!

  4. Excellent video! I’m actually going to try this. I’ve not had a sandwich in a long while! But the pickles and chips are always a good combo! You were hesitant at first bite, but by the end, you really seem to enjoy it. Thanks for the info on something new to try!

  5. Pardon me if I sound stupid, but that was adorable! It’s weird when people say it (because we never feel like we do) and I am going to say it – you have the most awesome accent.

    I want to try that sandwich now. But we don’t call them granary rolls here. I think we’d just call it a bun with seeds. Is that what it is?

  6. You are soooo cute on camera.. I think you you could be the next Top Chef.. lol.. That was really funny and I liked the way you brushed off the crumbs.. It sounds like you enjoyed it.. I have made Cheese Whiz and Pickle Sandwiches.. so this one isn’t too far off.. You might have to start a new series with food taste tests..

  7. Eroswings: Thanks! It’s funny, I couldn’t really taste the chips in the sandwich, they just added to the crunch. I should try putting the jalapeño-flavored chips on it next time! The pickles were really the things that added flavor.

    NoRegrets: It really wasn’t as bad as it might sound – if you like pickles you might like that sandwich.

    T-Bird: I have an accent? ;) Thank you, though, you’re right it is weird to hear and say it since we don’t think we have accents. It’s everyone else! :D

    Oh and we don’t call them granary rolls here either – just get buns with seeds. I found a bag of Kaiser buns at the store that had sesame seeds on them. Then I toasted the bun I was fixing.

    BabyBull: Thank you! Hmm…Cheese Whiz and Pickle sandwiches? I might have to try that! And you’ve got a good idea there, about a new video series on taste tests! Seriously, I think I’ll have to cook something up (no pun intended) for that!

  8. Tim: I’ll have to try actual gherkins to find out what they really taste like – Didn’t realize that my grocery store sells them in the European aisle! They also sell HP Sauce which is really what the recipe calls for, actually. It was a tasty sandwich, though!

  9. Tim: I’ll have to try actual gherkins to find out what they really taste like – Didn’t realize that my grocery store sells them in the European aisle! They also sell HP Sauce which is really what the recipe calls for, actually. It was a tasty sandwich, though!

Leave a Reply

