From the “Little Book of Relaxation”

I like buying the little books that are sold by the cash registers at the bookstores. They’re also great little stocking stuffers, too. I bought my mom a book and kit on how to grow a potato person (you pretty much keep a potato until it starts growing those weird roots in random places, and then you put the potato on a little plastic pedestal for display), and she bought me a tiny book on ghost stories. I just have a small collection of those mini books, but I’ve heard that people have much larger collections, some books are very intricately decorated.

Anyway, I picked up a mini book last year called “Little Book of Relaxation” from Lawrence Teacher Books. It has some good stuff in it, so here are some exerts:

Relax at the End of the Day
Nighttime Ritual
1. This day is now done.
2. Think about what challenged you or was left undone.
3. Take three to five deep breaths and release it.

***

The next time you have to stand in a line, rather than focusing on the inconvenience, take this time to relax. Take a deep breath, lower your shoulders, take another deep breath, and relax.

***

“Fear less, hope more;
eat less, chew more;
whine less,
breathe more;
talk less, say more;
hate less, love more;
and all good things are yours.”
– Swedish Proverb

***

At home:
1. Upon arriving home, instead of turning on the television or the computer right away, just be silent. Luxuriate in the space of your home, and breathe.

2. Just before dinner, as everyone is sitting down, take a moment of silence and 2 or 3 deep breaths. Be grateful for the day, for your family, for your accomplishments.

3. Just as you sit down to pay the bills, take a deep breath in. Exhale. As you finish paying each one, repeat the breath. Do this with each payment! Allow your shoulders to drop away from your ears. This will help you to relax around money.

***

“Take a rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop.” – Ovid

Mini Books

Mini Books

10 thoughts on “From the “Little Book of Relaxation”

  1. I like all those little bits of advice. Very zen. And I am all about creating moments of relaxation.
    I am always admiring those little books, but never buying them! Maybe I should start a tiny collection :-)

  2. When I first saw the title of your post on my iGoogle page, I thought it said “Little Book of Revelation.” Now that would be different, the Apocalypse condensed for your convenience.

  3. Churlita: Breathing exercises helped my mom when she was having anxiety problems, and it helps me too when I’m nervous about stuff. They also say that, before you answer the phone or get on the phone to talk to someone, take a deep breath. I think I tried it once and it did work.

    Laura B: You should definitely pick up a few of those tiny books. They also come with little kits like that potato thing. I bought a little kit on belly dancing, and the box cam with those little finger cymbals.

    Eroswings: I liked that Swedish proverb too. There’s so much more advice in that book, it even gives you a recipe for massage oils and for natural remedies for headaches (ex: lavender oil and peppermint).

    AlienCG: Yes, like a travel-size version!

    Grakki: The part where I’m supposed to take stock of what went on during the day and then letting it go is a little difficult for me. I do need to learn to meditate and enjoy my home when I come home without immediately jumping on the internet or turning on the TV.

  4. Tara – you need to put signs _ a slip of paper – on the TV and PC reminding yourself to not switch them on immediately, and then you’ll get into the habit of chilling first – a glass of wine or a cup of tea before you power up…?

  5. CyberPete: No problem! That was the nicest little book I ever picked up!

    Grakki: That’s a good idea! Thank you!

    BabyBull: They mention lots more stuff in that little book that can really help. Especially about taking the time to laugh, because it lowers blood pressure.

Leave a Reply

