Canada Remembers (Remembrance Day Nov 11)

6 thoughts on “Canada Remembers (Remembrance Day Nov 11)

  1. In Flanders Fields
    by John McCrae, May 1915

    In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.

    We are the Dead. Short days ago
    We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie
    In Flanders fields.

    Take up our quarrel with the foe:
    To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
    We shall not sleep,
    though poppies grow
    In Flanders fields.

    I think France, Belgium, Poland and Canada have an official holiday for Rememberance Day. I think that is very good. In the Uk we don’t have an official holiday but the nearest Sunday is always devoted to Rememberance services. The two minute silence at 11am is always respected also.

  2. That is nice that everyone is remembering on such a solemn day.. Today we watched the ceremonies from Ottawa and the passing of the torch from a 108 yr old vetran .. it is 90 yrs since WW1 ended..Thank you for posting this today.. I too have posted something..

  3. I watched an interview with a soldier the other day and it got to me emotionally. I think the reporter was having a hard time too.

    Daffy: My mom told me about that poem…she said it still puts her in tears.

  4. I was on parade with other vets on the 11th and was touched by the heartfelt applause we got. The crowds showed proper courtesy to the young men and women in uniform, and to the Pipes and drums, but we vets always got the best hand. Makes me proud. I only wish that I had been with it enough to ask the young man who asked if he could take my picture for a copy or a link. If you took a pic of someone in the Black Watch veterans association in Montreal, thanks and send me the pic!

Leave a Reply

