And I Quote…(Halloween version) – Revised

Remember when I quoted from some movies for Valentine’s Day? Well if you thought that was fun for me, imagine the damage I could do with Halloween! Muuuuah ha ha. Yeah, so a few nights ago I started thinking of quotes from scary movies. Some of the quotes and/or dialogue aren’t really scary, in fact some are funny. But I got them from movies that are supposed to be scary. Enjoy!

*****

REVISED…As I’m looking down this list it did dawn on me that I may have gotten carried away with all the quotes. It takes me a half hour to scroll down to the end of the post. So I trimmed off some and kept some of my favorites.

*****

Dr. Peter Venkman: (Talking to a ghost) “So where are you from….originally?” – Ghostbusters

Tangina: “It lies to her. It says things to her that only a child can understand. To her, it simply is another child. But to us, it is the beast.” – Poltergeist

“Are you scared child? Are you afraid? Well then why don’t you come with me.”
– Poltergeist 2: The Other Side

“I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized that what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simply… evil.” – Halloween

“It knows my name! The house knows my name!” – The Haunting (you know I love that movie)

“Last night I thought I heard thunder. Turns out it was just Satan’s stomach growling. You’re the one soul he’d come up here to collect himself.” – Constantine

“Have you checked the children?” – When a Stranger Calls

“Wendy? Darling? Light, of my life. I’m not gonna hurt ya. I’m just going to bash your brains in.” – The Shining

“There’s a monster outside my room, can I have a glass of water?” – Signs

“There was an accident. A lady was hit by a car. She died.”
“Oh my god, how do you know that? Did you see it? Where is she?”
“Standing next to my window.” – The Sixth Sense

“No one lives any nearer than town. No one will come any nearer than that. In the night…in the dark.” – The Haunting

“‘Beware the full moon…
“‘And stick to the road’…Oops.” – An American Werewolf in London

“Ah listen…the children of the night..What sweet music they make.” – Dracula

“Prince Imhotep thanks you for your hospitality….and for your eyes and for your tongue. But I’m afraid more is needed.” – The Mummy

“Fear not, little one. I am here to protect thee.” – The Omen

“We’d better get back, ’cause it’ll be dark soon, and they mostly come at night… mostly.” – Aliens

Newt: My mommy always said there were no monsters – no real ones – but there are.
Ripley: Yes, there are, aren’t there?
– Aliens

“In the absence of light, darkness prevails. There are things that go bump in the night, Agent Myers. Make no mistake about that. And we are the ones who bump back.” – Hellboy

“They call them the haunted shores, these stretches of Devonshire and Cornwall and Ireland which rear up against the westward ocean. Mists gather here… and sea fog… and eerie stories…”
– The Uninvited

“What an excellent day for an exorcism.” – The Exorcist

“The wreckage sank, with all the men aboard. At the bottom of the sea, lay the Elizabeth Dane, with her crew, their lungs filled with salt water, their eyes open, staring into the darkness. And above, as suddenly as it had come, the fog lifted, receded back across the ocean and never came again. But it is told by the fishermen, and their fathers and grandfathers, that when the fog returns to Antonio Bay, the men at the bottom of the sea, out in the water by Spivey Point will rise up and search for the campfire that led them to their dark, icy death.” – The Fog (I got the shivers reading this quote again. That’s good stuff.)

Vicky Vale: “What do you want?”
The Joker: “Oh you know, a little song, a little dance….Batman’s head on a lance..”
– Batman

The Joker: “I believe whatever doesn’t kill you simply makes you… stranger.”
– The Dark Knight

So what are some of your favorite quotes from horror movies or thrillers?

Oh and…

HAPPY HALLOWEEEEEN!!

Have fun today and tonight!

10 thoughts on “And I Quote…(Halloween version) – Revised

  1. “They’re here!”–Carol Anne, Poltergeist

    “A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.” –Dr. Hannibal Lecter, The Silence of the Lambs

    Happy Halloween!

  2. NoRegrets: Yeah, I went crazy there a bit, didn’t I? :D

    Churlita: Sure am.

    Laura B.: Thanks LB! Hope you had a nice Halloween!

    Silver: The one from Signs gave me the chills when the trailers came out for the movie.

    Eroswings: Oh, great quote from Silence of the Lambs! Hope you had a Happy Halloween too!

    Babybull: Yes, that quote was good too. I think they have that as a tagline on one of the posters for the movie.

    Tim: I love the quote from Aliens. Haven’t seen the Cartman version of it. He also did parody’s of scenes from “The Thing” and “The Omen”.

  3. “The power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you, the power of Christ compels you.” –The Exorcist

    ” I met him, fifteen years ago. I was told there was nothing left. No reason, no conscience, no understanding; even the most rudimentary sense of life or death, good or evil, right or wrong. I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face and, the blackest eyes… the *devil’s* eyes. I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simply… *evil*.” –Halloween

Leave a Reply

