Saturday Scavenger Shots: Burn

Today’s Saturday Scavenger Shot word, “burn”, was brought to us by AlienCG over at “Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections”. I have already demonstrated in a previous post how work can burn a person up to the point of venting. Now I bring you an actual photo of another interpretation of “burn”:

My friends and I gathered in my kitchen one night and made a spaghetti dinner. It was the preliminary dress/sari measuring party for Ksra’s wedding. We did not burn the meal and it tasted scrumptious.

I do not usually burn food as much as I used to, but there are still a few things that wind up a little too toasted:

Toast – when I put it down into the toaster for the second time, I tend to forget how long its been in there, and it gets burned.

Toasted cheese sandwiches – again, I’ll put the sandwich on the stove and I don’t turn the sandwich over in time. I wind up scraping the burned stuff off of the bread.

Garlic bread sticks – I think the lesson here is don’t let me make anything with bread unless I’m supervised.

That concludes this week’s Saturday Scavenger Shots. Look forward to seeing who will be tagged next and what the word will be!

9 thoughts on “Saturday Scavenger Shots: Burn

  1. That is a yummy looking plate of non-burned spaghetti!
    Bread is way too easy to burn. And I agree with Cricket that there is nothing quite as bad as burned popcorn. It is the smell that doesn’t die!

  2. Now, there’s a good looking plate I’d gladly burn my tongue on ;)

    I don’t have a toaster anymore since it broke 2 years ago; now, if I have a craving, I use the oven to toast bread. Maybe I ought to get a toaster oven.

  3. Babybull: Thanks! I hope you were able to find some!

    Cricket: Ugh, yes, nothing like the smell of burned popcorn wafting through the air.

    T-Bird: I usually have the burner on too high AND I walk away for too long. I did that the other day. Had to make a sandwich after talking about it on my blog. And thanks! The pasta was very good!

    Laura B.: Yup, I’ve smelled burned popcorn hours and hours after I burned some. It’s a nasty smell!

    Eroswings: Thanks! It was a tasty meal, for sure! I think you need to get a brand new toaster!

    Churlita: Ah shoot, I’m sorry the au gratin potatoes were burned a bit! I’m glad they were still edible, though.

    NoRegrets: Thank you! Yes, the first time I read through the comments I started getting hungry for toasted cheese sandwiches and pasta.

    AlienCG: There are some things I can tolerate after they burn – like bbq ribs and pork chops. Thanks, it was also a tasty plate of spaghetti! Took too much to handle, though, I was so full afterwards.

Leave a Reply

