Do the iTunes Shuffle!

I told Churlita that I would do this meme that I found on her blog, and then I procrastinated. No more! I’m sitting here drinking stale coffee and listening to some great songs. Why stale coffee? Cuz I like it like that. No actually I really don’t intend to start a fresh new pot until I’m ready to set it for tomorrow morning. This is stuff you totally need to know, right? So that’s why I’m drinking stale coffee.

Anyway, on with the meme. You probably know the deal. Open up your ITunes or whatever music thingy you have and put it on shuffle. Then list the first five songs you hear and write a story, sentence or a few words about that particular song.

Song #1: “Green Hornet” by Al Hirt

This song is on the “Kill Bill Vol 1” soundtrack. I used to play it on my CD player in my car on the way to work, which seemed appropriate since I’m usually rushing off, and the song sounds crazy and chaotic. But I love it.

Song #2: “We Didn’t Start the Fire” by Billy Joel

I still love this song after having played it over and over again since it was released (back in the late ’80s). Each time I try to catch another section of lyrics. He could add so much more to that song since then, couldn’t he?

Song #3: “Elie Attieh” by Inta Omri

It’s a very cool song on one of my bellydancing CDs. Awesome beat…makes me want to get up from my desk now and start dancing. But let me just finish this meme and then I’ll get back to it.

Song #4: “Super 16 (Excerpt)” by Neu!

Another song from the “Kill Bill Vol 1” soundtrack. It’s kinda freaky and could be added to a Halloween CD.

Song #5: “Toccata and Fugue in D Minor” by Johann Sebastian Bach

Speaking of a song that belongs on a Halloween CD…This one should be listed first. Our pianist played this on the church organ at our Spring concert. When I first heard him practicing the song, I thought he was just goofing around, because he sounded like the phantom from “The Phantom of the Opera”. But it turns out that the song that has been in several scary movies is the song called “Toccata and Fugue in D Minor”. Who knew? The song is 10 minutes long. It was the first song played at our concert and because it was all being recorded and the microphones were sensitive, we the choir were instructed to all sit very still so that no other sounds or voices could get picked up. I think it worked, I don’t hear a whisper.

I won’t tag anyone, but if you like this kind of thing go to it! Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Do the iTunes Shuffle!

  1. Wow. you have some diverse musical tastes. I love it. We have the Kill Bill soundtrack on our iTunes too. I love the Green Hornet theme song because it reminds me of watching Bruce Lee when he played The Green Hornet on Batman when i was a kid.

  2. Churlita: Thanks! I had no idea Bruce Lee was the Green Hornet! I’d like to get the soundtrack to “Kill Bill Vol 2”, too.

    Laura B: Tarantino is great. I still love the soundtrack to “Pulp Fiction”.

    Eroswings: Thank you! Billy Joel is awesome.

Leave a Reply

