Irritation is….

I found another one of my little books buried within my batch of drawings. This one may have been written before “Angriness is…Part II” because it looks a bit vintage and pre-typewriter. A few of these will sound familiar.

“Irritation Is…”
Written and Illustrated by Tara

“Irritation is when your math teacher gives you a double assignment on Monday.”

I think this one was from junior high. The teacher was pretty cool if you didn’t cross her, but even if you did she was pretty reasonable. I realize this now, but we probably all feared her at one point or another during that time.

“Irritation is when no one listens to you.”

Okay, well I know now that if my mom wasn’t listening, it usually meant that a thousand thoughts were running through her head. My guess is that at least two or three of us in the family were asking her stuff at the same time.

It is still irritating in the present, though…working life or personal, when you’re trying to get a point across to people but that point hits a brick wall because they aren’t listening. It is at that moment when a megaphone would be useful. Especially at work.

“Irritation is when your body is telling you that you’re turning into a women.”

I got a chuckle out of the typo there. Apparently I wasn’t just becoming a woman, I was becoming women. Hmm. Anyway, I don’t think I need to explain this particular bit of irritation. It’s definitely something that could be written in present day as well. For example, the bad timing of it all, which usually coordinates with a fun event like vacation, a concert, etc.

Anyway, a few more pages tomorrow!

10 thoughts on “Irritation is….

  1. A rare early work from the highly acclaimed “…is” series! Luv it! What’s up with that? Homework on a Monday!?! That’s just as bad as homework on the first day of school!

    People suck when they don’t listen. Then it gets irritating when they ask for information you all ready told ’em!

    Puberty…nature’s way of telling you that life is unpredictable…and can really be difficult and awkward at times!

  2. You did a lot of these books back in those days. The publishers are wondering if you plan on writing another anytime soon.

    From the author who brought you (Don LaFontaine’s last voice over-complete with explosions and machine gun fire) “angriness is” and “happiness is”, the long awaited “__________ is” A story of the highs and lows of a girl who could be your next door neighbor. available wherever paperbacks are sold.

  3. Churlita: You’re probably right! Talk about a crisis!

    Laura B.: Thank you! Yeah, the last one conjures up all sorts of emotions.

    NoRegrets: She’s thinking she needs something specific from the store.

    AlienCG: The third one is hard to relate to with everyone. But yeah, this was one of my earlier books.

    Eroswings: Thank you! Ugh, I hated homework on Mondays, but worse was when they gave tons to us on Friday.

    It gets very irritating when they ask for information they should’ve heard when being told the first time. But I do that too, so I guess I shouldn’t talk. Heh.

    Evil-E: I was writing a list of possible things for the “Frustration is” book, but got frustrated. Heh. I’m ready to draw again, I just need an outline of what to draw. I WISH Don LaFontaine could narrate the launch of my books. “A strange girl’s erotic journey from Milan to Minsk.”

  4. Yay for Tara! : )

    Uhm, I think I know why you thought you were becoming women plural… becuase when you get your first period all the burned of all woman-kind comes crashing down on you and you’re like, “What the HELL?” and if you’re like Laura, you keep asking that over and over and over for the next forty years! HA! :P I laugh because I can relate, Laura. Stupid lady-time! *grumble grumble*

    Anyways, I like how your brother character got a directional arrow to show that he is about to turn his abck to you completely adn listen to or ask mom some questions, thus diverting her attention away from you even more. Brothers! *hmmph!*

Leave a Reply

