Factivitis

I haven’t posted an update in quite awhile. I don’t have a wild life, so there’s not much to tell.

My mom was in the hospital last month for about a week. It was due time, since she had been suffering from something and the doctor couldn’t quite nail down the problem. She had been weak for a long time, though, and the hospital staff found the problem and took care of it. Now she’s motivated again and moving about her apartment, garage sales, flea markets, etc.

Did I tell you that my friend at work got a new job and doesn’t work with me anymore? Yeah, that happened. She’s happy at her new job. We met for lunch last week which was nice.

Since my friend left, they hired someone else. She’s nice and a hard worker. I trained her to work the front desk last week. I was worried that I would leave something out, but eventually I had to let that thought go and realize that she would learn one way or the other. There are people in the office who won’t hesitate to tell her that she made a mistake. Thankfully our manager is tactful about it, but there are some others who aren’t and seem to nitpick when they’re in a mood which is every other day. She has already had experiences with those types, and I have warned her about them.

My mom and I were invited over to my brother’s house on the 4th of July and we had some of the best crab legs we’ve ever eaten. They were perfectly baked. I wish I had two stomachs so that I could’ve eaten more.

I watched the first season of “American Horror Story” through Netflix and I absolutely loved it. I ordered it through Amazon so that I can watch the season whenever I feel like it.

Oh, I almost forgot! Last weekend, I went to a few events for my 20-year high school reunion! We were invited to the high school for a tour. I wasn’t alone thinking that the school would look the same, but there were some major changes made since we graduated in 1993. It was so strange, but thankfully the auditorium, art wing and the tryout theater were all the same. It brought back some nice memories.

Then that same day we had a picnic in the valley/Metroparks. I should’ve stayed longer. I met up with a former classmate who’s boyfriend worked at the school I work at now. We swapped some memories, and then they left. I didn’t want to hang around, so I left too. It was a beautiful day, though, perfect for a reunion!

4 thoughts on “Factivitis

  1. I’m very glad to hear your mom was treated and is feeling lively again. I know about getting burned out on blogging, but it sounds like you’ve had a LOT going on recently! I so enjoy hearing about it.
    I feel like I am not a good teacher and always feel uncomfortable training people in almost any task. So afraid I haven’t been clear or thorough.
    I honestly haven’t been back to my high school since I graduated. I’d love to see how much it has changed in the past *gulp* 33 years….

  2. When I’m training someone new, I don’t realize how much I do automatically. It’s difficult to retrace my steps sometimes. She seems to be getting through okay, though.

    I wish we had been able to go through the whole school that day, but some areas were closed off.

Leave a Reply

